A spot of parkrun tourism #RunForSteem

in #runforsteem6 years ago

With another postponement of the new parkrun I'm involved with due to a waterlogged course, today allowed me to be a parkrunner rather than volunteer.

My wife fancied a mud-free route and as we were going to be up early anyway we could head further afield. We chose to head to Northala Fields in West London, somewhere we knew would be clear of mud.

We'd put word out to our club and Tony & Darlene joined us. We were there in plenty of time to climb one of the Northala mounds to get a great view of West London.

20180407_083532.jpg

Word had it that Ian, Lisa and John, our club chairman, would be coming too. True to form they arrived with just enough time (after an unplanned course recce) to join the toilet queue before we were ushered to the start.

20180407_103227.jpg

Our friends Sara and Chris who live nearby also joined us. It was Chris' first parkrun since February and Sara hadn't run in over 5 months.

It was the 4th time I have run the course and it did not disappoint. It's a virtually flat, just over a single loop and a friendly atmosphere.

I was aiming for a hard run - for 20-odd minutes of work at threshold (controlled discomfort) effort. I got my heart rate up and was able to hold it to secure my fastest time on that course and my second quickest parkrun ever.

Screenshot_20180407-191830.jpg

20180407_192001.png

My wife secured a 47 second improvement of her PB and Lisa also ran her fastest parkrun ever.

It was a great run for all, followed up with a tasty sausage sandwich!

Check out the #RunForSteem challenge:
https://steemit.com/runforsteem/@jumowa/weekly-run-for-steem-challenge-apr-4th-apr-11th-and-payout-for-last-week

And why not test yourself over a single mile and join the #RunYourMile challenge:
https://steemit.com/runyourmile/@runningdanw/celebrating-breaking-the-barrier-runyourmile
runyourmile.png

Sort:  

Very decent km split times there, well done!

What I earned in the #runforsteem challenge, I passed on to you, because I want the challenge to be enjoyed even more, and I like parkrun.

RUN!!!

That's very kind thank you. I will therefore add that amount into the #RunYourMile prize pot. Check out the challenge here: https://steemit.com/runyourmile/@runningdanw/celebrating-breaking-the-barrier-runyourmile

Already saw it, and glad to hear you put it into more running :)

I'm a bit cautious at the moment, while recovering, but I'll likely do it again soon. I'm pretty tough to beat though, so I'll have to prepare.