My first marathon

in #running7 years ago

My first marathon.
This weekend it was the NN marathon Rotterdam 2016. April 10, 2016 had been red in the agenda for a couple of months.
What ever started like a 10 km to fit in my wedding suit about 3 years ago (which was also good and good at the time) this weekend reached a preliminary height with a marathon running. A dream that slowly became a reality. The road was a nice road. Started with the 10 km and then 3 times a half marathon in the past 3 years. Ever less, I was fooled to walk so far. People got more respect for it and eventually I also felt myself more and more a real runner. Enjoy what you are doing and talk with passion.
zzz.jpg

In January 2016 the final decision came. After spending a month every month in December in connection with the annual worldwide Marcothon, this idiot seemed a good idea to train a marathon within 3 months.
Every idiot can finally walk only a special marathon. These 3 months were a matter of a lot of training, thinking about your own schedule and training using examples with just 10-04-2016 in your mind. Between a small backstroke through a knee injury. This woke up the doubt but fortunately it did not get fatal for that one purpose.
The home front also slowly got the fuss of having new dishes in the kitchen and in the last few weeks it was nothing else. Fortunately, they did not mind and also did not care about them and they supported me with everything.

5.jpg

Sprint with Dafne
At 09-04-2016 it was finally as far as I could get my starting number. Same the atmosphere already in Rotterdam. Together with the woman on the go and just enjoy all that's going to happen. Just take a sprint with Dafne Schippers, a new shirt shopping and a bandana and I'm ready for the marathon.
6.jpg

Finding myself on the Wall of Fame
After eating all the pizzas after the whole week, after the Expo there is time for pancakes and then on time to bed, because tomorrow 10-04-2016 is so far! I can walk my first marathon! It also feels really like being. Throughout the week I only want to walk but just keep in mind that small circles. I also hope to be losing the feeling of a knot in my stomach. It will be the healthy tension or nerves. Fortunately, I'm not the only one with that feeling, my wife likes to be exciting too.
After the Expo there was another surprise in the mailbox a package of roses and a poppy on a map of female love. You're fine, knowing that she supports you.

1.jpg

Before the start
10-04-2016 it's finally over. At 6:30 am, the alarm clock allows me to have a good time for breakfast and a cup of coffee. At breakfast another gift of woman's love. A sweatband with a beautiful text from her and the little man on it. After that it is about half past nine to Rotterdam. At the station you already notice that something is happening. So many people all share the same goal, walk a marathon. Thousands will do the same as you. Only the feeling when you see all those people is not to be described, it promises to be a beautiful day, the sun is already shining. Time to go to the starting box. Fortunately, my waterback bag just starts the day before 10:00 am Lee Towers. You'll never walk alone. Everybody sings along. You feel the tension in the air and you know the climax will come if you finally leave. So beautiful to meet with and you are sure it's special.
At 10:30, your start-up box can finally start. I decided to walk calmly and not let me go by anyone you pass in the beginning. Later I will resist them and wake them up. Steady is the motto.
I know this quite well and the first kilometers fly by. At 7 kilometers, just a stop, the nerves need to be unloaded. As a happy man, you're happy with a tree.

2.jpg

Prepared for road
I also use the drinking stations every 5 km after a recommendation on a running forum. A gell, a cup of water and a sports drink. Working at a quiet pace. At the sponges I cool my head and face well, because the temperature is still good today.
After the first 10 km, I start to see the first hikers and occasionally catch some people. It's going well and before I know, I'm almost back at the Erasmus bridge. The second time seems to be a lot heavier than the first time, but I know that right after that, my wife and child will be along the park. A look at me sweatband helps me to make sure that my eye light becomes moist. After about 29 km, I see them have a nice moment to stop for a minute and work in a banana and hug for some new energy.
7.jpg

Time for a banana
Then enter the last part of the marathon. The part that is feared by quite a few runners beforehand. The beaky forest. It matters to me but after about 36 km it's getting tough. Trained up to 32 km in training, and even though I'm getting a bit quieter, I start to notice. But yes you end up having a marathon so it's not crazy either. At the drinking station there took a while and the legs stretched slightly to get the stress off.
Fortunately, there is a video message from my wife and child on the big screen that brings about new energy. The crowd is now getting bigger and you know giving up now is no longer an option. Even though the pace is lower and the legs are heavier you now have 5 of the 6 blocks of 7 km so you can do this. Finally, it is also a mental thing about the marathon.

3.jpg

Just before the finish
At 39 km, I walk a little bit. The legs just do not want to eat so hard so eat and drink at the drinking station. The water bag I have with me also does good service between this and again.
After that another 3 km and a little bit. Walking is no longer an option with all those enthusiastic people along the route. The rows grow thicker and anyone who walks is encouraged to run by. So for me, this is no longer an option. New energy is coming into the body and I'm still looking forward to pushing a kind of end-print that looked very elegant. In my mind, anyway.
Then, just before the finish, I see my support, and again, Mega prides proudly along the side of the road, and I know I'm just going to do it. I'm going to run out of my first marathon. The marathon where the goal was out.
Eventually I arrive at 4:47 pm and a few seconds over the finish. I just did a marathon. Woehoe !!!

4.jpg

After all, a proud woman walks to meet me for a kiss and a hug. Oh that feels just as well.
After a while, squeeze into a sunbathing bench and let the feet slip and start a recovery shake.
Allow me to work quietly for me. What was it beautiful? Pure enjoy all those people and music along the route. And of course all other runners around you.
The big question of course I would do again. At the moment, maybe, maybe, my body is thinking about the day after the marathon. It was on 10-04-2016.

9.jpg