At least I know how far I went

in #running5 years ago

I just finished a 6.3km run that lasted about 0hh:42mm:0ss !

image

This is the face of a man who ran over six kilometres and then realised at the end that he hadn't pressed the START button on the Strava app that he uses to measure and compare the last year of running. Only once before have I failed to record the detail of a run - that was Strava's fault - but this time it was all down to my foggy morning brain.

I did the no-thinking Stag Hill route. I have a good record that it's 6.3k and my best guess is that it took me 42 minutes. My legs are a bit sore so it might have been faster but the one thing I do know is that I'm not good at estimating anything about running statistics - which is why I have an app to do it for me. Nonetheless, @exhaust doesn't insist that I upload a GPS file as proof (even though it's good to have, so here I am, staking my claim to another few miles to get me on the leaderboard.
Check out some detailed info at my EXHAUST page
Join me in testing out EXHAUST!

Sort:  

You have uploaded 10 running activities, and 3 of them have been of similar distances (within 10 percent)!
Here are your 5-fastest running activities of a similar distance:

Over these 3 similar activities, you have travelled approximately 18.80 kms at an average pace of roughly 6:49 min/km!
Your latest run was at a pace of approximately 6:40min/km!
Looks like you went a bit faster than usual this time! Nice work!

That's pretty good. I went a little further today, but was not a lot quicker. You are making good progress. I generally remember to log my runs, but the app has crashed a few times. We take this stuff for granted now, but generations of runners got by with a stopwatch and some estimates. I have an old book on running that talks about driving your routes to get the distance. Now we have more stats that the top runners did a few years back. Not sure it does me much good, but I like stats.

Thanks, I just keep getting out there and it seems to improve.

I love stats - at the beginning I was spending more time looking at my stats and working out what it all meant than I was actually running! In the earliest days of blogging, I certainly spent more time examining my visitor stats than I did writing. Steem stats don't do it quite so much for me, although if the price goes back up and we're talking 10x what we have now, I may be paying them a bit more attention :)