Weekly Running Update - two decent runs!

in #running3 years ago

I stuck to my plan of just doing two runs last week, which I must say was a lot less stressful than committing to doing three.

Two just makes such a difference to the weekly schedule - this way I feel like i have so much more time.

It's the having to drive to a place to run that makes the process so long winded - adding on around 30 minutes, at least, per run, that's quite a lot of extra time!

I track most of my runs with Garmin, which auto uploads to Strava.

Weekly running summary:

  • Total kilometres this week: 14K
  • No. of runs: 2

Wednesday's Run - A 9K circular route round Castelo Novo - 280 M ascent

Screenshot 20210118 at 08.30.19.png

I can hardly believe it's taken me so long to figure this circular route out, rather than outs and back which is what I've been doing around here for the last couple of months!

This is a much more mixed route up than my other, usual ascent - some bit steeper and some bits flat, chopping and changing every couple of hundred metres, where as the other way up is just a pretty standard incline - varying every 500 metres or so.

The downside of this route is that I run past what must be a dog-breeder's house - the noise is horrific, but at least they're a way back from the path.

I had a moment of high anxiety as I passed a lone house on a new bit of the route - you never know about the dog situation - but it was empty, seemed abandoned even, fingers crossed it is. No damn dogs for now at least!

20210113_125557.jpg
Nice place for a house!

I did struggle a bit with this run, I wasn't up for it TBH! But I pushed on through

Sunday's Run: 5K local wanna be park run - 250 meters Ascent (in 2.5K)

Screenshot 20210118 at 08.29.52.png

I did Sunday on account of le bottle of Vino I'd drunk on Friday night.

A decent run this - up earlyish, 10.15 start, just pounded it out, decent pace, sorted, done and dusted, no frills, decent pace, happy enough.

Sometimes it's just a matter of getting it done!

It was a beautiful morning - sunny and around 8 degrees by 10.100, so pretty ideal for running, and for mid January, I will absolutely take that!

It feels warmer in the sun mind, I was able to stop for a brief selfie and not feel at all cold!

Next week's plans

I think we'll go for two runs again, and I really want to focus on doing more Yoga Woga than I've been doing, and maybe some circuit training!

Sort:  

*When someone tells you that what you want to do is impossible, change the word in your head to hard. What you want to do is hard. Hard is doable – it just requires dedicated work and effort and you can make it happen.
@trevor.george

Enjoy a !BEER in the meantime...

*Reblogged by @runningproject

Sorry, out of BEER, please retry later...

I am usually not scared of dogs, but I really hate it when I encounter dogs without an owner during running. I am glad you were lucky this time! :) The landscape looks great by the way!

Most of them are OK - just loud. You can get them put down if they attack you easily enough so the owners are pretty careful about tying up the really aggressive ones.

It's still not pleasant, mind you!