A brief digression: Living my dream as a wanna-be mountain-athlete (our friend’s report) [EN/GER]

in #running5 years ago

Hey guys, we wanted to take a little break of our China-trip-reporting and asked a close friend of ours to talk a little bit about his experiences in the French Alps, few years ago. Maybe, as a change, you would like to see some snow and hiking-trails? So let’s start right away:

Did you ever desire something for awhile, but struggled getting it even started? Did you ever say to yourself: “I would really like to do that, but …” That’s how I felt in summer 2015. I had been in to ultra-trailrunning for a while (running very long distances at a time on trails) and loved it, but as I was living in a low mountain range, I was always dreaming about running real mountains. I was dreaming about waking up in the morning, taking a healthy breakfast, choosing some mountains on a map that I would like to run or ski during the day, and just step outside and start going. I was dreaming of living like a real mountain-athlete.

In fall 2015, some circumstances in my life led me to take a gap year off studying and just get it started. I started looking for some kind of volunteering-opportunity in the Alps and finally found a ski-instructor-couple from Briançon who was searching for an au-pair, taking care of their 8-year-old son during winter. I had never heard about that town before, but soon I should find out!

Briançon is a small town in the département des Hautes-Alpes in the southeast of France at an altitude around 1300m, making it the highest city in France. It is just some kilometers away from the Italian border and is known for its remarkable history and culture, as there is still a fortified town from the 17th century and some buildings that are classified as UNESCO World heritage.
Briancon_1.jpg

Besides, it is a very interesting place for all kind of mountain sport activities: in winter you can enjoy the Serre Chevalier Ski Resort with more than 250km of slopes and amazing opportunities for backcountry skiing or have some fun on cross-country ski-tracks. Briançon is one of the most sunny places in France with more than 300 days of sunshine a year, that’s why there is the saying « Les pieds dans la poudreuse et la tête au soleil », translated as « Feet in powder snow, head in the sun», to describe this fantastic conditions for any kind of activities.

In summer there are endless opportunities for hiking, running or mountainbiking, if you are a climber you will be amazed as well, and not to forget: some of the most prestigious climbs and descents in the world of cycling, as Col du Galibier (2645m), Col de l’Izoard (2361m) or Col de Granon (2413m).

I arrived there around Christmas 2015, and if you remember the winter of 15/16, you might also remember the fact that most of the Alps were still without snow until New Year. This was sad, as I had come for skitouring, but at the same time those snow-free 5-15°C conditions allowed me to go running up to 3000m-peaks in shorts in late December, which is quite unusual!
Briancon_7.jpg
Running in the Alps in late December, here close to Col de Granon at around 2450m, in shorts!

As I was completely new to this place, I chose the peak of Grand Area for my first tour. With just a map, a light backpack with some water, energy bars and rain-jacket I stepped out the door. The first 7 kilometers made my thighs burn, as I went from 1250m to 2550m, passing by the Croix de Toulouse at 1975m. I had perfect weather and had to force myself to look back sometimes to realize how amazing this surrounding was:
Briancon_2.jpg
View to the south, with Briançon in the Valley and the narrow ridge where the hiking trail brought me up

Some minutes later, I was on the next highlight-trail: “la Crête de Peyrolle”, where the trail was just following the ridge, always above 2500m, with breathtaking views into the Serre Chevalier Valley and at the other side down to Val-de-Près, always following the GR5-Trail (a long-distance trail from Lake Geneva to Nice).
Briancon_8.jpg
View to the north-west from Crête de Peyrolle (2650m)

I guess you can imagine how exposed the ridge was! Down there you can see Serra Chevalier Valley (1300m) and the highest peak at the left is Barre des Écrins, at 4102m.
I soon reached Col de Granon (2413m), where I took some minutes of rest and ate something. I had just been running on maybe the most freaky trail I’d ever run and I was amazed. Here I was, in the middle of the mountains, living my dream.

I followed the path that – according to my map – should lead me up to Grand Area, but after some kilometers with some old snow covering the trails and making it nearly impossible to know where it was going, I chose to go straight up, following the rocks.
Briancon_9.jpg
Scrambling up to Grand Area via the north-east side. Maybe you can imagine how steep it was, and my legs told me the same.

This part with some easy climbing and scrambling was one of the steepest things I had ever made: 450m of elevation for 1,5km! But finally I reached Grand Area at 2872m:
Briancon_3.jpg

Briancon_6.jpg
Click to enlarge

I enjoyed the sun, ate a banana, and couldn’t stop looking around, like a child discovering the presents under the Christmas tree. And trust me: the banana I ate up there was one of the best for a very long time!
For going back, I chose the direct path down to the valley, enjoying some easy rolling and fast kilometers. It felt good to run a little bit faster after all this uphill-work!
Briancon_4.jpg

Briancon_5.jpg

On my way back I even lay down at the side of the road with fantastic sunshine, falling directly asleep for 15minutes. Those 5:30 hours for 35 kilometers were not a speed I was used to from running at home, but with a lot of snowy, steep parts and ~2250m of ascent and descend, I was still just happy and speechless about this trip.

I went home, made some yoga-exercices, stretched, took a shower and cooked a vegan Chili sin carne. In the evening, I went to bed, looking one more time out of the window to the mountains, knowing that this was this thing I had been dreaming about for a long time. I really felt like a fulltime mountain athlete and was wondering what the next weeks would bring…

FollowButton.jpg

German (same post)

Ein kurzer Exkurs: Der Bericht unsres Freundes – „Wie ich meinen Traum als Möchtegern-Bergsportler lebte“

Hey Steemians, wir wollten eine kleine Pause von unserer China-Reiseberichterstattung machen und haben einen guten Freund gefragt, ob er etwas über seine Erlebnisse in den französischen Alpen erzählen. Vielleicht möchtet ihr als Abwechslung zur chinesischen Landschaft mal etwas Schnee und Wanderwege sehen? Also fangen wir gleich an:
Hattest du jemals einen langgehegten Traum und bist aber immer daran gescheitert, es auch nur zu versuchen? Hast du jemals zu dir selbst gesagt: „Ich hätte mal richtig Bock, das zu machen, aber…“

Genauso fühlte ich mich im Sommer 2015. Ich war seit einiger Zeit passionierter Ultratrail-Läufer (ich lief also regelmäßig Distanzen über 42km auf kleinen Pfaden) und ich liebte es, aber da ich in einem Mittelgebirge wohne, träumte ich dauernd davon, in richtigen Bergen zu laufen. Ich träumte davon, morgens nach einem gesunden Frühstück die Landkarte aufzuschlagen, mir ein paar Gipfel auszusuchen, auf die ich dann gerne laufen (oder mit den Ski besteigen) würde und dann einfach hinauszutreten und loszugehen. Ich träumte davon, wie ein richtiger Bergsportler zu leben.

Im Herbst desselben Jahres hatten sich in meinem Leben einige Dinge geändert, sodass ich kurzerhand beschloss, mir ein Urlaubssemester vom Studium zu gönnen und es einfach mal anzugehen. Ich begann, nach einer Art Volunteering-Gelegenheit in den Alpen zu suchen und wurde bald fündig: ein Skilehrer-Pärchen aus Briançon suchte nach einem Au-pair, um sich über den Winter um ihren acht-jährigen Sohn zu kümmern. Ich hatte noch nie etwas von dieser Stadt gehört, aber schon bald sollte sich das ändern!

Briançon ist eine kleine Gemeinde im Département Hautes-Alpes im Südosten Frankreichs auf einer Höhe von ca.1300m, was sie zur höchstgelegenen Stadt des Landes** macht. Es sind nur wenige Kilometer bis zur italienischen Grenze und sie ist für ihre bemerkenswerte Geschichte und Kultur berüchtigt; unter anderem gibt es dort eine befestigte Burganlage aus dem 17.Jahrhundert, die heute zum UNESCO-Weltkulturerbe gehört.

Briancon_1.jpg

Vor allem aber ist Briançon ein sehr vielseitiger Ort für alle möglichen Bergsportarten: im Winter bleiben im Serre Chevalier Skigebiet mit mehr als 250 Pistenkilometern, endlosen Möglichkeiten für Skitouren und Powderabfahrten oder zahlreichen Langlaufloipen keine Wünsche offen. Briançon ist mit mehr als 300 Sonnentagen eine der sonnenreichsten Städte in Frankreich, wodurch die Redewendung „Les pieds dans la poudreuse et la tête au soleil“ zustande kommt (was so viel heißt wie „Die Füße im Tiefschnee und der Kopf in der Sonne“), um die phantastischen Bedingungen für alle möglichen Aktivitäten zu beschreiben.

Im Sommer gibt es ebenso viele Möglichkeiten zum Wandern, Laufen oder Mountainbiken, auch als Kletterfan kommt man voll auf seine Kosten und nicht zu vergessen: einige der bekanntesten und sagenumwobensten Anstiege und Abfahrten im Radsport, wie zu Beispiel die Pässe Col du Galibier (2645m), Col de l’Izoard (2361m) oder Col de Granon (2413m).

Ich kam um Weihnachten 2015 dort an und wer sich an den Winter 15/16 erinnert, wird sich bestimmt daran erinnern, dass ein Großteil der Alpen bis Neujahr noch ohne Schnee war. Das war für mich nicht ganz so cool, war ich doch zum Skitouren gekommen, aber gleichzeitig konnte ich durch diese schneefreien Bedingungen bei 5 bis 15°C im späten Dezember in kurzen Hosen bis auf 3000m-Gipfel laufen, was ziemlich selten ist!
Briancon_7.jpg
Im Dezember in den Alpen laufen, hier in der Nähe des Col de Granon auf ca. 2450m, in kurzen Hosen!

Da ich ganz neu in der Gegend war, wählte ich den Gipfel des Grand Area für meine erste Tour. Nur mit einer Karte, einem leichten Rucksack, Wasser, einigen Energieriegeln und einer Regenjacke ging es los. Nach den ersten sieben Kilometern brannten meinen Oberschenkel nur so, als ich von 1250m auf 2550m hochging und hierbei an der Croix de Toulouse auf 1975m vorbeiging. Das Wetter war perfekt und ich musste mich zwingen, immer wieder mal zurückzuschauen und zu genießen, wie toll die Umgebung war:
Briancon_2.jpg
Aussicht nach Süden, mit Briançon im Tal und dem schalen Kamm, der mich auf kleinen Trails hier hoch brachte

Nur wenige Minuten später kam schon das nächste Highlight: La Crête de Peyrolle, ein Trail der sich mit atemberaubenden Aussichten in das Serre Chevalier Tal und auf der anderen Seite hinunter in das Tal Val-de-Près den schmalen Grat entlang schlängelt (dauernd über 2500m) und dabei stets dem GR5 folgt (ein Fernwanderweg vom Genfer See bis nach Nizza).
Briancon_8.jpg
Aussicht nach Nordwesten von der Crête de Peyrolle (2650m)

Ich glaube, man kann sich denken, wie ausgesetzt der Grat war! Im Tal kann man das Serre Chevalier Tal erahnen (1300m) und der höchste Gipfel am linken Bildrand ist die Barre des Écrins, auf 4102m*
Ich erreichte schon bald den Col de Granon (2413m), machte eine kleine Pause und snackte ein bißchen. Das war vermutlich der abgefahrendste Trail, den ich jemals gelaufen war und ich war begeistert. Hier war ich also, mitten in den Bergen und lebte meinen Traum.

Ich folgte weiter dem Pfad, der mich – zumindest der Karte nach – zum Gipfel des Grand Area hinaufführen sollte, aber nach einigen schneebedeckten Kilometern konnte ich den Weg kaum noch erkennen und beschloss einfach, direkt bergauf zu gehen und den Felsen zu folgen.
Briancon_9.jpg
Hier beim Hochkraxeln zum Grand Area über die Nordost-Seite. Vielleicht kann man sich denken, wie steil es war, jedenfalls meinten meine Beine das.

Dieser Teil, bei dem es einige leichte Kletterpassagen und Kraxeleien gab, war einer der steilsten Wege, die ich jemals gegangen war: 450m Aufstieg für 1,5km! Aber letztendlich erreichte ich den Gipfel des Grand Area auf 2872m:
Briancon_3.jpg

Briancon_6.jpg
Klicken zum vergrößern

Ich genoss die Sonne, aß eine Banane und konnte nicht aufhören, mich umzuschauen, wie ein Kind das seine Geschenke unter dem Weihnachtsbaum entdeckt. Und glaubt mir: die Banane, die ich dort oben aß war die beste Banane, die ich seit Langem gegessen hatte!
Für den Rückweg wählte ich den direkten Weg ins Tal, wobei ich einige leichte und flotte Kilometer lief. Nach dem ganzen Aufsteigen fühlte es sich sehr gut an, mal wieder schneller zu laufen!
Briancon_4.jpg

Briancon_5.jpg

Auf meinem Rückweg machte ich sogar am Wegesrand eine Pause im herrlichen Sonnenschein und schlief prompt für 15 Minuten ein. Diese 5:30 Stunden mit 35 Kilometern hatten nichts mit der Geschwindigkeit zu tun, die ich üblicherweise vom Laufen kannte, aber mit den vielen steilen, verschneiten Abschnitten und ungefähr **2250m Auf- und Abstieg war ich dennoch begeistert und absolut sprachlos über diese Tour.

Ich ging nach Hause, machte ein paar Yoga-Übungen, duschte und kochte mir ein veganes Chili sin carne. Als ich abends ins Bett ging und nochmals aus dem Fenster die Berge anschaute wusste ich, dass das genau das war, von dem ich so lange geträumt hatte. Ich fühlte mich wie ein Vollzeit-Bergsportler und fragte mich, was ich in den kommenden Wochen noch alles erleben würde…

FollowButton.jpg

Sort:  

Congratulations, Your Post Has Been Added To The Steemit Worldmap!
Author link: http://steemitworldmap.com?author=roadtrips
Post link: http://steemitworldmap.com?post=a-brief-digression-living-my-dream-as-a-wanna-be-mountain-athlete-our-friend-s-report-en-ger


Want to have your post on the map too?

  • Go to Steemitworldmap
  • Click the code slider at the bottom
  • Click on the map where your post should be (zoom in if needed)
  • Copy and paste the generated code in your post
  • Congrats, your post is now on the map!

Hello, @roadtrips. Your post has been manually curated by Altruistic community and has been resteem.

To get more support from Altruistic, you may use the community tag #altruistic-steem.

If you have any suggestion, wants to know more about us, or wants to appear as a guest author and or curator, join us on the discord community server.

Keep blogging!

Thanks for your support :)
Really appreciate it

This story was recommended by Steeve to its users and upvoted by one or more of them.

Check @steeveapp to learn more about Steeve, an AI-powered Steem interface.