My 4th* London Marathon

in #running6 years ago

This weekend sees the 38th London Marathon and it'll be my 4th. Kind of.

I've been fortunate to run London twice, in 2015 and 2017, and in 2016 I marshalled for my first time. This year I return to marshal duties.

20180418_201102.jpg

The club I run and coach with, Witney Road Runners, has supplied marshals for London Marathon for over 20 years and we're really fortunate to have a great place on course - covering from the 20k point on Tower Bridge to just shy of half way, and then again around 22.5 miles by the Tower of London.

The atmosphere is amazing and it's awesome to see how fast the elite go and how determined the tailenders are.

You can read a more of my first experience as marshal on my off-Steem blog: https://wp.me/p1B0uE-yV

Keep an eye out on the TV for a friendly marshal at the corner just after Tower Bridge and more on here next week.

Sort:  

I will look out for you x

Not clear to me... Are you going to participate at the marathon?

Sorry - I'll be there but not running; I'm there as part of 6000 volunteers who make sure the crowds and runners enjoy themselves but keep apart!

My wife has been running a water stop at the Philadelphia Marathon with her high school cross country team for the last couple of years. Last year I joined them with our young kids and we all had a great time. It definitely gives a different perspective to volunteer.

Thanks for volunteering! It wouldn't be possible for these races to go ahead without volunteers. I found it very humbling to be part of people's day.

Ah... the joy of running... just go and run!

Vote for your running author of the week 12!
Resteemed by @runningproject