Lunchtime run: Busting a lung

in #running6 years ago

My Endomondo training plan wanted me to do a 12 minute speed test today. It was a lot warmer today and I headed to a park near work. I got there just as the warm-up period ended and managed about two and a half laps in the time. I started fairly quick, but after the first lap I was struggling. I just tried to keep on going. I think I managed slightly further than the last time I did this, but still a way short of my best ever a couple of years back.

Run

By the end I had really had enough. I walked over to a playground where there were some bars I could attempt some chin-ups on. I managed a weedy 3. There were some young lads there working out with their shirts off. I didn't want to show them up ;)

I did job back to the office. In one of Stevenage's many underpasses there was a group of 'youths' gather. I sniffed a slightly sweet smell that hinted they were smoking weed. I expect that's pretty common everywhere.

One thing I forgot today was a towel. I had to dry off after my shower with a spare top. It's not really the same, but I just hung around for a few minutes in the sun after I had changed to dry off.

It's three and a half weeks until the half marathon. Do I feel ready? Not really, but I know I can maintain a steady pace for over an hour. I'm not going to go all out for a good time as I just want to finish.

Run free! Support #runforsteem and #runningproject.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

oh i will return to running myself too since the weather here is nicer now

When I read the headline I thought you had lung problems :( I think I am overly fixated on that). The people I know that has run a marathon was really exhausted, but 20 km is a good distance. I have never run it but walked it quite some times. Finding a pace is the most important.

I may have been overdramatising it. As someone who want into exercise for a long time I'm experiencing some interesting stresses on my body. Having an app is good as it encourages you to keep going. I know I can't expect it to be easy.

When you move up in activity it can be felt :) I am going through something similar with my 1,5 hour exercise a day plan. I do not use an app and to begin with I kept it very simple going or cycling the same routes every day. But now that I know that my average waling speed is 5.5 and cycling speed i 16-17, I use online maps like google and openstreetmap to make more interesting destinations. I want it to be part of my daily routines like it was 1.5 - 2 years ago so I do not stretch myself too much. But a half marathon is likely to hurt a little :)

Good luck with your half-marathon. One thing I can recommend is not to fall into the trap of "following the fast crowd" at the beginning of the race. Set the pace for you in advance and follow it - steady through all the race.

Not much danger of me sprinting off. I'll look for people who run my sort of pace

He he... that's what I thought... and then the crowd did it's magic... which was not so magical after 15 km :) But yes: you know what you are doing!

Your endomondo wants to kill you man!
Joking... Good work! For sure you will finish that half marathon, but try to run longer once a week.
Better said, 1 short run but fast (by feelings, don't kill yourself) about 8Km in length and another longer but slower, starting at 14km the first week out of three remaining weeks, 15Km the following week and, on the third, don't do the short run but do the longer at the beginning of the week, around 16km...
Then rest till the race.
Keep on running and enjoying!

Some runs are just harder. Cudos for getting out there!

Best of luck on your marathon! You can do it! You've been training for awhile now.

It's been a few days since you last posted your running stats. I think your avg pace increased from the last time. Progress :-)

Well I haven't run since Sunday. I can't run every day :)

Oh I wasn't implying that you run everyday. Sorry for coming across like that.
I was trying to say that I don't remember the exact stats from last time.

Ah... the joy of running... just go and run!

Vote for your running author of the week 12!
Resteemed by @runningproject

What a rough day. Though some day are like dis. Pray before moving in the morning

Eh?