My racing weekend. One down, one to go

in #running6 years ago

This may have been a mistake, but I got booked up for two races in one weekend. I was planning to do the Greenway Challenge half marathon some time ago, but then a charity 5k came up for today and I couldn't resist. It's raising money for a local primary school.

I cycled up to the start and found a big crowd there. They did a 1k run for the younger kids, and some parents, first. That's the school on the right. It's a fairly new one that was built when the old asylum was converted into housing. There are hundreds of houses up there now. Conditions were good for running. Not too warm and it was dry, although there was a little rain overnight.

Crowd

For the 5k there was a real mix with lots of kids running. They didn't sort runners by expected times, so it was very bunched up at the start along some narrow paths. After a few hundred metres I could get up to speed and pass a lot of people.

Start

There were around 220 runners. The times are not out yet, but I think I came 60th. I was happy enough that hardly anyone overtook me. I just had a couple of kids come past at the very end, but I was out of energy by then. My app had it at just under 5km, so I don't have a time for that, but it would be a good one for me at that pace. I beat my 3 mile time for the year, which was probably from a parkrun.

Stats
Usual inaccurate max from Endomono app.

Here I am with my medal. It's quite a chunky one.

Selfie

Now we shall see if I've overdone it before the big one tomorrow. I'll take it fairly easy for the rest of the day and I hope I'll be up to reporting on that race too.

Run free! Support #RunningProject and #RunForSteem.

I'm Steve, the geeky guitarist.

I'll buy guitar picks for Steem Dollars

Get some passive income with Mannabase

If this post is over seven days old you can vote up one of my newer posts to reward me.

Spam comments may be flagged. Beware of the Commentphant!

Sort:  

Good on you for stepping up and doing the race not sure I would have if I had a half marathon the next day. But that's just taking myself too seriously. Good luck.

Yey, we have a new Running Author of the Week!!!

Look who won... who is Running Author of the Week 15!
Resteemed by @runningproject

Good stuff Steve although two events in two days is rather brave. Hope you have a blast tomorrow.

I'm resting up before an early night. It's been raining, but I hope it stays dry for most of the race. I may be dodging puddles. I'll make it around the course somehow.

Congratulations on your run and well done raising money for the school!

Woohoo!

First race done and dusted and you did a good job!
That's a pretty excellent time.

That should set you up nicely for the half marathon. your legs may be a little tired at the start, but don't worry about that. As soon as they warm up you'll be fine.

It's the mental game that is the most important. And coming off a good performance like this sets you up for a really good day out tomorrow.

I hope it goes well for you, and I'm looking forward to hearing all about it.

Cheers. I know for sure that I'll be going for a much slower pace. I couldn't have kept that up for longer.

CONGRATS CONGRATS!!!
I had no idea .. resteemed.. so happy for you!

Congrats and fingers crossed for half-marathon!

Congratulations @steevc. Hope you've still got lots of energy left tomorrow. Good luck! 😍

Cheers. I'm just hoping it stops raining for most of the race

Hopefully it's stopped raining now @steevc. It has here! 😊

Nice job today, and wishing you fresh legs for tomorrow! I'm always a fan of jumping in on races raising money for a good cause. :)

Well done @steevc, dont skimp on the stretches!

Well done, hope they raised lots of funds. Nice time and not too long, may be just perfect to set you up for tomorrow. Cool medal :)

One medal more!!! Congrats for the time.
Rest as much as you can now.

Congrats! Hope you will be full of energy again for tomorrow!

A great contest to join i wish
.looks thrilling atmosphere.

Cool!

I see you are new to Steemit. One word comments may be taken as spam. It's better to show you read the post. Find people who share your interests and talk to them