Running community on Steemit? Easy afternoon 10 miles

in #running7 years ago

My wife's travelling in Scotland with her sister for a week, so I thought I would get some fresh air to keep myself from feeling too cooped up. Decided to go for an easy-pace 10 mile jog on one of my favorite trails: the tow path along Carnegie Lake. Not sure if there is much of a fitness or running community on Steemit yet. I've seen a couple posts here and there. Mostly I'm just a casual runner at the moment, but I love it! I'll keep posting whenever I have any interesting runs. Please comment below if you're a runner or into fitness so we can all get to know each other :)


5 miles in and about to turn around!


There is a series of small dams periodically along the trail.


Rusty old signs and fences pop up along the trail.


Beautiful river/lake on one side, and a Jurassic Park like forest on the other.


My attempt at an artsy panorama shot.


Scooby-Doo gummies after 5 miles to keep up the energy :)


I swear a dinosaur could walk out of here and it wouldn't surprise me.


I saw two beavers and a good-sized turtle along the route.


A couple of deer showed up along the path, but they didn't stick around.


Average pace was somewhere around 9:15, or so. Just taking it easy.

Sort:  

I'm not a runner, but it's good to see your post! It's a great exercise! The park is very interesting with beautiful river/lake and green forest. Cute deer and it's good that you saw the beavers and turtle as well! Nice atmosphere and I feel refreshed from here! I followed you now! ;)

Thanks! The trails are one of my favorite things about New Jersey. I'll be sure to check out your posts! :)

You're welcome! That's really great trails! ;)

Lots of green. Looks like a nice trail to walk also.

Definitely good for walking too! Thanks for reading.

Nice! Are you on Strava? It could be cool to get a steem running club going on there.

Thanks! I haven't heard of Strava before, I will have to check it out. I guess it is a social media platform for runners?

Yeah it is a bit like Nike+ or the other run trackers - use your phone or watch to track pace and route. Strava is cool because they implement clubs and teams which is nice; the segment feature where you can compare yourself to others on your favorite hill or sprint.

I'll look at getting a steem group going!

I'm on strava, have you sorted a steemit group?

Cool man!!

Thanks!

I really like your posts, everything is cool.
I like your way.

Looks identical to the C&O canal in DC

Nice, I've never had the chance to see it.

Looks like beautiful scenery for a run...

I'm always envious of the people who can run long distances and enjoy. I run often and also have a running challenge I'm doing, but I wouldn't say I enjoy running. I mainly run to stay in shape and fit.

Nice pictures and thanks for sharing. Hopefully the fitness community will slowly grow here!

I know how you feel, my wife is actually the runner, not me, so I would say I mainly do it to support her, and it's kind of fun going on long runs together on the weekends. The problem I have is that I'm kind of heavy for a long distance runner (like 190 lbs), so the miles add up on my feet and knees. I think I'm going to start cutting the miles some and cycling as cross training to spare the joints a little.

I use to love running in nature.

But my knees started to "protest" now I stick with kicks on the punchingbag.

I hear that. I was marathon training with my wife and still trying to lift weights 3-4 times a week, and after several weeks up around 50 miles per week it was just killing my knees. I think I need to scale back the running, especially cause I'm kind of heavy for a long distance runner. I'm gonna try to work in cycling more, which is a lot easier on my joints.

I hear you to:)

Yes that's is my plan also I use to be a long runner to.
Goodluck with the cycling

peace

Wonderful pics!

10 mile jogging around the lake?

How I miss that.

Place looks lit. ;)

Today is a beautiful day outside and I'm on Steemit :D instead

Happens to me all the time haha

haha. same here. It's an addiction

hahaha the scooby doo gummies, the go to power snack!!

Definitely, I buy them by the case :p

You got me curious! :P How do they taste?

Pretty good actually, and I'm pretty picky about my gummies :)

Nice man!!!

Excellent post! ☆☆☆☆☆😎

Congratulations @trogdor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @trogdor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

Congratulations @trogdor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

An excellent post! I vote with pleasure! follow you!

I wish I had your stamina.

Congratulations @trogdor! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

If you want to support the SteemitBoard project, your upvote for this notification is welcome!

A while ago, you upvoted my article. Thank you for voting. I like your sentences and photos rich in nature. Sorry, I'm not good at English.

Looks like a beautiful place to run, it is a shame there's not more runners on steemit as I enjoy reading about other people's runs

Simply lovely!

I'm very sorry that I can not run around because of a spinal disease. I envy you a little.

you are cute. and your post is nice

Looks like a beautiful route! I traveled outside the city for work recently, and managed to find a great trail to run. It was so refreshing compared to the road running I typically do at home.

20171018_155120.jpg

I am not a runner but as I enjoy walking between nature and hiking, I find it an excellent way to exercise and relax at the same time. Nice photos and excellent record, greetings and hugs! <3

Hello @trogdor What a nice place indeed!! I'm not a runner, but I used to be a high and low impact aerobics instructor in my country for 15 years more or less jajaja Nowadays, I just make long walks and do exercises. It's good to be healthy and have contact with nature. It helps you to feel relaxed and happy!! I hope to see many good articles like these ones.

LOL great post! I especially like the part about the dinosaur... O and your energy recharge snack! Carnegie Lake look gorgeous! My Adventure Partner & I love a good run/getting our fitness on! It is really an important part of your day if you want to live a happy, healthy life! Keep it up! Love your fun writing style! :grinning: Keep it up friend! - I will BE following your journey!