My Journey To A Great North Run 1hr25 (Day 3)

in #running6 years ago

day3.jpg

So it's day 3 of the running plan and here is how I got on.

Taking it nice and easy today. The idea was to get some easy recovery miles in, but mostly to enjoy the run.

I decided a nice run up on the trails for a bit would be a great way to relax and take in the lovey scenery, plus I haven't had a decent trail run for quite a few weeks so will help to strengthen the ankles and other little muscles that don't get worked much on flat running surfaces.

For some strange reason I decided against wearing my trail shoes as I thought it wouldn't be that slippy or muddy (even though its basically been raining every day for the past month or so) and normal shoes would make it more fun.

And today I thought I would take some pictures to make this more interesting, plus since it was an easy recovery run, it would give me lots of rest stops. So firstly through the local village, Cleadon, on my way to the trails, where I bumped in to a lovely horse which was very keen on licking my hands, as they do.

pp1.jpg
pp2.jpg
pp3.jpg

And off up to the hills, well, just one hill. Its a pretty bad place to live around here if you want to do some decent hill training as there isn't any really. This is where I quickly found out that not wearing trail shoes was a very, very bad idea. It must of been the muddiest I have ever seen the trails up there. I had to walk on and off for a couple miles as it was pretty impossible for me to run. Not to worry though, it was still great to get out there.

pp4.jpg
pp5.jpg
pp6.jpg

So it turned out to be just over 9 miles of about a 9:25 m/mile pace.
Strava: https://www.strava.com/activities/1400803642

Tomorrow I have planned a longer run of at least 13 miles. Will probably throw in some mile intervals at a tempo/uptempo pace, just to keep the legs moving, but will see how I feel. I won't be taking any pictures though, will probably just do that on my slower recovery days.

Keep running.

Yesterday's training: http://bit.ly/2EvfJ6u

Sort:  

Some great views on your run. All the best with your training

Thanks, long way to go, just gotta keep enjoying it :)