About Last Night... [Speed Work + Valentine's Scavenger Hunt]

in #running6 years ago

Last night the Wolfpack had our weekly speed workout. We had all five of us together which is rare because we all have different schedules and such. Usually there's at least 3-4 of us for each workout, but we all made it last night.

Every Wednesday we "sneak" onto the university's track. I mean... the gate is locked so we gotta find a way in right? The track is so nice compared to the usual asphalt we run on. It's got that spongy feel to it that's much easier on your legs. That's why we always do speed work there.

Last night we did 8 x 800 meters with a 30 second recovery followed by a 200 meter after each 800. Yikes! 😬

I was feeling really good!

laps.png

pace_distribution.png

Overall it was a fantastic workout.

Well... during the workout Coach and I set up a special surprise for my wife and his girlfriend. We created a fun scavenger hunt for the to complete while we were training. It led them downtown, through the park, to a pizza place, and finally ending at the track!

We hid clues throughout the town. They had to go to the rooftop of a parking garage where we left them some wine and snacks. Next they had to go to the park and find a clue on the bridge and then to the train station! Next they had to go a pizza place where we paid the hostess to execute our plan. They had to ask for the Valentine's Day Special and then sing a song to redeem it. It turns out they sang "Row, row, row your boat!" 😄

Needless to say it was a lot of fun and they enjoyed it.

+++++

Well for the rest of the week I have a 10 mile easy run today. Tomorrow is a rest day. Saturday is another workout day. It should be pretty interesting because the schedule calls for two high intensity 10Ks back to back with five minute rest in between. There is a race benefiting the children's center at the university so we are going to run a speedy 10K and then race for the second 10K. So that should be pretty fun!

And.. Sunday is of course a long run of 16 miles.

Hope you all have a great week of running!

Follow my training on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

Running allows me to set my mind free. Nothing seems impossible, nothing unattainable.
-Kara Goucher

Resteemed by @runningproject

Sounds like fun. I need to find some more people to train with

I used to only run alone until I found a running group in my city. I was a little shy to go to the runs at first but I'm glad I did! The group is huge and it's a lot of fun. See if you have any running groups in your town @steevc

We're working on building something around here