Feelings Before the Marathon (4 days left)

in #running6 years ago

There's only 4 more days left until the marathon.

Usually I'm pretty excited for this moment. I've been training the past 6+ months for this. I know that's overkill but the circumstances are weird. The plan was to qualify for my first Boston Marathon in December. Everything went exactly as planned and I indeed did run a qualifying time, but the course was short by .2905 miles. Yes, a little more than a quarter of a mile. I explained it in my previous post: https://steemit.com/running/@whizkid1/robbed-of-a-boston-qualifier

While I have gotten over this and moved on, it has affected my training. My body is weary and tired. I'm feeling fatigued daily from the overtraining. It's not only affected my physiology but also my emotions, family, relationships, etc.

Honestly, I'm ready for it to be over for now.

I'm a little worried about the race Sunday for a few reasons.

  1. My body is fatigued. I'm taking this week very lightly to rest and taper. I want to show up to the race as recovered and energetic as possible.

  2. My foot. This is an ongoing thing for me when I overtrain. I have this nagging foot pain in the arch of my foot. The same issue came up when I ran the 50 miler, the 100 miler, and after the last marathon.

  3. The weather. Forecast for Sunday in New Orleans is... High 72 and Low 62. Ouch. Not including the humidity, this will be a little warm for a marathon.

  4. I just want to relax for a few days :)

Ok that's enough of that. I just wanted to get some of those things off my chest. To be really honest, I am going to show up and do what I set out to do. There's just no other option. I've worked my ass off the past few months. I've put in the work. I've gone above and beyond. I've pushed my body past previous limits. I will succeed.

I'm writing this now to put it out there. I need to get my mind right and focus now. I'll have a race report for you next week :)

If you want to keep up with my training and races, follow me on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

"Consider each training as a race with a finish line."

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Check new nominated Running Authors of the week and vote for yours!

Rest, relax, be positive! The rest will resolve itself :) Fingers crossed so all goes well!

Thank you for your support @dailyrunner!

I know very well what you are feeling...just think everything will finish in a few days. Stay strong, don't fall now...
Marathon is hard, very hard...the race is very difficult but the preparation is just...well, prefer not to say...

Thanks for the wisdom @toofasteddie. In a few days I can relax!

Hey @whizkid1 good luck with the race and I hope you enjoy it. I am training for a race in Las Vegas this April to try and qualify for Boston as well...so I am a little worried about hearing your experience.
Regards @run.vince.run

Thank you @run.vince.run. Best of luck on your training as well. Is it the rock n roll marathon?

Sending some positive energy from a few states over! I'm sure when you get to the start line you'll make it count. Rest your body and your mind the next few days as much as you can!

Much needed and thank you so much @plantstoplanks! I sure do appreciate it :)

Absolutely! Have a good race!!

Congratulations @whizkid1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 1 year!

Click here to view your Board

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

Congratulations @whizkid1! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!