Speed Work Wednesday

in #running6 years ago

With only 9 more days left it looks like this is the last real speed workout on the training schedule. It's funny looking back on the past few weeks of training. I was actually looking forward to this workout :)

As usual, we snuck on the university track to do our speed workout. We were all feeling pretty fatigued from the 10Ks on the weekend and the long run.

The workout was fairly simple:

6 x 1 mile repeats (30 second break) + 400 meters [90 second rest in between sets]

Here's my workout analysis:

workout_analysis.png

laps.png

Overall, I was very pleased with the workout. On the 1 mile repeats the goal was 6:30/mile pace and on the 400 meters the goal was 85 seconds.

This training really demands a lot from you. The 400 meter repeats after the 1 mile really spikes the lactic acid in your legs. The 90 second recovery is "almost" enough to recover and somewhat simulates race day fatigue in your legs. Needless to say, I was a little sore the next day.

I followed this workout with a nice and easy 10 mile recovery run the next day. Not gonna lie, my legs felt pretty heavy.

I'll post this weekend's workouts on Sunday.

Race day is next Sunday. I'm ready for it to get here!!!

Follow my training on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

"When you cross the finish line, your life will change forever."
[-Unknown)

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Last day to vote for your Running Author of the week!

Good workout! We have similar training plans.
What is your next race? 10K?

Running a marathon in 8 days 🙃

Good luck man! ... below 3h I guess?