What's Your Favorite Running Shoe and Why?

in #running6 years ago

It can be difficult finding a running shoe that you really like.

There a millions reviews out there, but how do you know which ones to trust? It can quickly become expensive buying multiple pairs of shoes. I've gone through my fair share of shoes and keep finding myself going back to a few of my favorites over and over.

I mean, I want to try some new brands and styles, but I the shoes I have now. It would be nice if someone would sponsor me and buy all my shoes. Until that day... 😉

I usually wear my shoes until they are falling apart. As my fellow runner knows... Each shoe has a different character and personality. I'm currently a few hundred miles into these Hokas.

IMG_6387.JPG

So honestly, I just wrote this post to ask for opinions and suggestions. Let me know what you are wearing and why you like it!

Sort:  

Mizuno Wave Rider without doubt. I use them for any workout.
Since 6 years ago. They are perfect, in particular the 20th edition:

Thanks for the suggestion @toofasteddie! How do they hold up for long runs?

They are perfect for that. I run a couple of marathons with them

my favorite is my Asics! they have great arch support and keep my shins feeling strong!

Thank you for the suggestion @tstarnes. Which asics do you run in?

The ASICS I have now are Roadhawks! I like these ones so far, but have only had them for about a month!

I switched to Hokas for the added support to help heal my plantar fasciitis. With that under control, I’ve since moved on to Altras. I like them so much I picked up road and trail pairs.

The wide toebox is pure luxury! It’s how your toes were meant to run and cuts down on a lot of foot issues.

Sounds like we have the same taste in running shoes @dlew. I've been wearing hokas and love them. Although I did come across a pair of altras over the summer. I have wide feet so I really LOVED the wide toe box.

You won’t switch back once your toes get used to all that space!

If you get Altras, break then I’m slowly due to them bring zero-drop. Otherwise, you risk Achilles injury.

We may train or peak for a certain race, but running is a lifetime sport.
Alberto Salazar

*Resteemed by @runningproject

totally can relate to this 👆

I've only had a few from Mizuno and Asics so far. Need another pair soon, so will see what I can find

What kind of shoes are you thinking about getting next? @steevc

I'd be happy to have the same ones again really. I know they work for me. I guess it's a problem if they keep changing them