Runner's Diaries: Earphones, Nose Breathing & Pace (A Ramble)

in #running6 years ago (edited)

Let's talk about these today...

I decided to make a post about some running topics that I've found interesting these past few weeks. Since I've started running religiously again, I've been thinking about the use of earphones during a run, breathing through my nose instead of my mouth, and improving my running pace. I know this is a very random combination of topics, but I think it's good ones to talk about and would love to chat about some more in the future.

Earphones - whether it's your phone or an iPod

people-2592247_1920.jpg

Image Source

I've always been a music person. I enjoy listening to any songs with a good beat, some bad-ass rap songs, or just chill indie music (depending on my mood). I'll list some of my current faves below. Listening to good tunes usually keeps my attention off of my heavy breathing if the run I'm on is quite difficult. And as an introvert, anything that cuts me off from the outside world is a huge plus. Music pumps me up, it motivates me, and it keeps me going. During one of my half-marathons, I started with a podcast, but later switched over to music because I was having such a hard time. Music makes everything better. I use an iPod shuffle during my runs, it slips onto my running short or pants. Very convenient. Give it up for free hands while running!

Current awesome running songs (for me): Suited by Shekhinah, Thrift Shop by Macklemore, Bagbak by Vince Staples, Stronger by Kanye West, Formation by Beyoncé.

Great bands (indie/folk/rock): Coldplay (Fix You ♥), Of Monsters and Men (Dirty Paws ♥), Mumford and Sons (Hopeless Wanderer ♥). Any of their albums. Got 'em all.

Other faves: Halsey (Now or Never ♥)

I discovered podcasts and audio books a few years ago, as mentioned above. If you run A LOT, these can be very educational / entertaining / inspiring. Music can get played out after a while. I haven't listened to many, but I'll list those I have listened below.

The Jenna & Julian Podcast (YouTube), Michael Pierce (YouTube) and any distopian novels. Oh and Sapiens: A brief History of Human Kind. Interesting read / listen. About to start a new podcast, will mention it in next running post.

Nose breathing - are you crazy??

happiness-1866081_1920.jpg

Image Source

Yes, it's as difficult as it sounds. Or maybe it's just me. I went on a 10k run with a friend the other day, and I was having a really hard time up this one painfully long hill. She mentioned, after I complained about a stitch, that it's better for your fitness and your breathing if you only breathe through your nose. Keeping your mouth closed. I obviously tried it, and I can see the point, but it was so incredibly difficult. I ended up breathing through my nose for 10 seconds, and opened my mouth for the next 10 seconds. Alternating this way, I managed it to a degree. I'll be researching this a bit, but if you have ever tried this or have been doing this all along, please let me know! I would love to know what you think.

I found this piece at https://www.nomeatathlete.com/breathing-when-running/ that talks about this quite extensively. Go give it a read, or just read my short summary.

Even though one's mouth can take in more oxygen per breath, according to this article, it often builds up in one's bloodstream because the body cannot trade it for carbon dioxide fast enough. The nose apparently delivers a smoother flow of air to the lungs without it triggering a 'survival response'. It's challenging the first few weeks, but one's body grows accustomed to the exclusive nasal breathing. (Matt Frazier, 2012)

Improving your pace - gradually

snow-3028460_1920.jpg

Image Sources

It's not like you can go from a 8 minute to a 6 minute kilometer in a day. It takes training, pushing yourself and a lot of consistent effort. I've heard through word of mouth that one of the best ways to improve your pace is through interval running. This involves changing your pace according to distance or time. I haven't tried it myself, but as part of my upcoming marathon training I will need to do some pace training once a week. At the moment, I just run. I walk when I need it, and I run when I'm ready again.

I'm naturally a very slow runner. My fastest 21.1km run was 2 hours and 25 minutes. At the moment I'm training with a friend who's also just getting back into the running gig. Luckily we have a similar pace, we're just still walking a bit too much. Which I have no problem with xD but I'll need to start picking it up soon. It's so easy to settle into a comfort zone. As autumn and winter finally starts here, it should go easier. The heat is very uncomfortable to run in sometimes.

DQmaUNGXJcbEhAhX7QX4okGPjyVXfVHfzdUj72sHHGmqsvP.png

Make sure to share your thoughts below. I'm just a newbie runner hoping to get to those high distances one day :) would love to hear from some experts!

APP.png
Animated Banner Created By @zord189

Sort:  

Sal optel die week, en minder stap.

About breathing, I've read that inhale through nose and exhale through the mouth would be most regular. but on the other side, I've read that if you are doing your training in very high tempo, it would be better to breath through the mouth in both directions, because that way you get more oxygen. Most important thing about breading is actually technique regarding harmony and rhythm of breathing.
Btw, don't forget water during hot days if you are running longer then one hour.

I met someone on a trail a few years ago who mentioned nose breathing. I hadn’t thought about it in a while. I’m interested in hearing how it goes for you.

You might want to look into Phil Maffetone and heart rate training. You run most of your runs in the aerobic HR zone. There are different variations from there (he argues for the extreme version of no speed runs) adding a speed and a tempo run each week.

Will check out his work. Thanks for sharing @dlew !

The real purpose isn’t to win a race. It’s to test the limits of the human heart.
Unknown Runner

Resteemed by @runningproject

STAY TUNED WITH @runningproject , something good is coming!

This post has received gratitude of 1.80 % from @appreciator thanks to: @xramonahx.