Running update

in #runningproject2 years ago

Recently I competed in my third ever marathon (and my first since 2011). I ran in the Orange marathon on March 6th and finished in a time of 3:47:37, beating my old PB (3:58:30) by more than 10 minutes! I ran this event instead of the 6 foot track marathon, which I was training for, which was unfortunately cancelled (long story short - I’m now entered for 6 foot track for 2023). This marathon was a lot easier than the 6 foot track marathon would have been. I felt a bit underdone for that event but had trained just enough for the Orange marathon. Although I was in a world of pain from 37-39 Ks, I managed to put in a last-ditch effort just before the end when I saw some folks in the 5K event coming the other way (some of whom I knew and wanted to make it look like I wasn’t dying).

Proof of Run

These were my race stats for the day (I think some of those splits are wrong!) -

Two weeks after the marathon, I ran the Great Volcanic challenge, just 11 Ks this time, but along steep trails. I bought some new shoes for this race. Since about 2011, I’ve run in ‘minimalist’ shoes but I decided after all the marathon training I’d done that I needed a bit more support. Also I don’t think minimal shoes are advised for trail runs so in a way it was good that the 6 foot track marathon was cancelled as I might have ended up injured!

Shoes - old and new

These were my stats for the day -

The run included two summit climbs. These were almost impossible to run up so I just treated them as opportunities to catch my breath!

Mt Towac summit - nothing to see here

’Young man Canobolas’ summit - a bit more to see

I’m on school holidays at the moment. I was hoping to take this opportunity to get back into running as I haven’t done any running since the Great Volcanic challenge in late March, but unfortunately I’ve got a bit of a cold (not COVID) so I’m just resting. Sigh.

Sort:  

Congratulations on that time! Amazing you have cut 10' your last chrono

Thank you fren.

Congratulations @mrhill! You have completed the following achievement on the Hive blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s):

You distributed more than 36000 upvotes.
Your next target is to reach 37000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your board and compare yourself to others in the Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support the HiveBuzz project. Vote for our proposal!