Lock down's silver lining.

in #runningproject4 years ago (edited)

thumbnail_IMG20200326151958.jpg
My first post lockdown run! The streets are empty.

New Zealand is in it’s first day of lockdown because of the COVID-19. At this stage the lock down is planned for four weeks. I am naturally an optimist but I am also naturally a worrier (I am not sure how both of these aspects of my personality work together!).

Anyway I am going to look for the silver lining of my current situation.

In my ‘little bubble’ there is currently me, my boyfriend @run.vince.run and our two cats Tim Tam and Rusty.
We live in a warm and clean (well most of the time) two bedroom house. Vince is able to work from home and because of the nature of his work his job is secure. I am a secondary school teacher (so my job is also secure). I am also ‘working from home’ and planning lessons online for my Psychology students.
Vince and I both do a lot of training and I think our main concern at the moment is that our training is going to suffer, however, because we have no races to train for we are going to use the next few weeks to build a stronger base. The local swimming pools are closed and we are getting mixed messages on whether open water swimming is allowed (since we don’t live within walking distance of a beach). However, we are allowed to run and cycle together.

My silver linings:

  1. I have a secure job and can keep paying my mortgage.
    thumbnail_IMG20200325110428.jpg
    My working from home set up.

  2. I can still run. I did my first lockdown run this afternoon. A 10k run around the block. I saw plenty of police patrolling which made me feel a little better knowing they are out keeping an eye on things.

  3. I can still ride my bike.

  4. If the weather is terrible we have a spin bike and wind trainer so our bike training can continue indoors.

  5. I am still able to dance. Recently I started back at tap dancing classes after a 2 year hiatus (I have been tap dancing since I was 8!). There is a wooden floor in the back half of my garage (and if I am honest one of the reasons I bought the house because it came with a ‘dance floor’) so I am still able to practise my dancing (I apologise in advance to my neighbours who will hear me tapping away).

  6. I get more cuddles with my cats - and I am not apologising to my cats about that!
    thumbnail_IMG20200326111521.jpg
    Rusty snuggled up beside me on the couch while I work.

  7. I get to spend more time with Vince.

  8. I am going to try and learn a language. Italian. Vince’s family are Italian so it would be awesome to be able to have a conversation with them in their native language.

  9. I am going to do daily yoga. Running has made me more and more inflexible so I can use this time to find a great yoga instructor on youtube and spend maybe 30 minutes a day on yoga.

  10. I am going to read the pile of books on my bedside table that I have not got round to finishing or starting (I am currently in the middle of about three different books). I also got 5 more books from the school’s library before it closed so I will not run out of reading material.

  11. I am going to start writing a potential new syllabus and book on Psychology with my boss. It will mean reading up on the latest Psychology research and getting familiar with all the classic Psychology studies. Its going to be great.

  12. I am going to be eating really healthily. I always try to eat well but sometimes when I am at work there are treats that my colleagues have baked and I am not always able to resist temptation. However, there won’t be the same temptations at home.

  13. I have been meaning to paint the walls of my house (indoors) and have paint samples that have been sitting there for months. I will choose a paint colour for my walls.

  14. I was also meant to declutter during the last school holidays but didn’t get round to it so I am going to declutter.

  15. I am going to watch lots of shows on Netflix that I have saved on my list.

  16. I am going to follow the lockdown rules so that the people I love don’t get sick.

So I guess we are in a ‘wait and see’ situation. But I am optimistic that it will all be for the best and we will be able to get back to ‘normal’ soon.

Sort:  

Firstly, awesome to see you on hive...Go You!!
Secondly, its a pretty crazy time and no one knows how things are going to pan out over the next six months, its great that your taking perspective and making the most of what you're going through at the moment.

Good to see you are making the best of things in this lockdown

This post has been appreciated and featured in daily quality content rewards. Keep up the good work

Good stuff !


Lockdown Day 1: 1st argument with daughter LoL she didn't want to use the spare room (the place I put my Pride and Joy Specialized Road Bike on a pedestal). She is working from home and didn't want to be an inconvenience. Young Adults just won't accept help, so frustrating !!! Swap you for your cat, unless it talks back too ...

Ha ha my cat has an attitude but he gets away with it because he's cute! It is going to be a long few weeks. Vince and I are working in separate rooms so we don't get distracted by each other. I also have the TV on to provide background noise (as a teacher I am not used to it being so quiet). Good luck with your daughter :)

Nothing can stop a consistent Runner.
@runningproject

Resteemed by @runningproject