Back On track With The Winter Warrior

in #runningproject6 years ago (edited)

mo_4.jpg

My plan at the start of this was to give a weekly update in my training to try as a way of motivating myself through a long cold and wet winter. It's my second winter in Auckland and it's been rather mild and with my 4 marathons in 4 months, has made the months fly by. That's no reason to stop though, and even though I haven't been posting updates lately, I have still been training hard, I have just had other things to write.

So this is my update for my last month(July) of training.

Even though the winter has been a little tough, the weekends lately have been pretty awesome with sunny, still conditions, perfect for working out. With my first ultra marathon approaching, I am building the kilometers to make it through the 50km race, and as you may remember, I am also building up my power on the bike. I've also been working hard on recovery. I am keeping my weekly training under about 10 hours while still trying to improve and finally get rid of some of my niggling injuries. As a little side project, I have taken on training my girlfriend in the pool. Progress has been slow, but with a 1 minute, 45 second 100m sprint today, I think we can both look back and see we have made some good progress over the past few weeks.

Run Bet Is Not Waybetter


runbet.png
Something I got into a little bit lately was runbet(https://waybetter.com/runbet). My girlfriend brought it to my attention, where you sign up to do a series of runs, for example four weeks of 5 runs a week. The catch is, you pay a small sum, usually $40, along with hundreds of other runners. At the end of the four weeks, if you haven't done all your pledged training runs, you don't get your $40 back, and this gets placed in a pot to be delegated to all the runners that complete the weeks of training. So if you do complete all the training, you get your $40 back, plus a share of the pot to be delegated from the people who don't complete the training.

Are you following, good, because its not as good as it seems. The people that run runbet, take 15% of the total pledged. This isn't very clear in the sites details, and this could also mean, if not enough people pull out of the specific challenge, you could end up paying a bit of money for your troubles. Either way, I understand these apps need to be paid for by someone, but I think the organizers are being a little greedy.

The following is a breakdown from strava on my July training with a total: 459.0km Run/Swam/Biked for the month

julytraining.png
If you would like to see my training or follow me on Strava, please see the link below:
https://www.strava.com/athletes/1778778

Upcoming Races

How The Month Went


Although July did start off with the Wellington Marathon. I felt I recovered well and got back into training pretty quickly. I feel like my bike training is coming along really well and I am feeling strong with my ultra run coming up. The main goal over the next month is to train hard and stay fresh which I think I am doing.

Interested In Fitness And Steem


If you want to get involved in the Steem communities that are helping people earn Steem by keeping fit and active, here is a list of the groups I know of:

  • The Running Project - Approved running authors get upvoted by a growing community of like minded users. To join the fun see the channel:
    https://steemit.com/@runningproject
  • Fitnation With Run Burgundy - A newer channel to get you more active, you don't just have to be a runner, for more information check the daily posts at:
    https://steemit.com/@runburgundy

My latest post for the @runningproject is all about "More Reasons to love HITT Training", so feel free to look it up below:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/more-reasons-to-love-hitt-with-the-runningproject

If you have found this post useful or interesting, please consider Commenting, Upvoting, Following and/or Resteeming @run.vince.run

Sort:  

Congratulations @run.vince.run! You have completed the following achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of comments

Click on the badge to view your Board of Honor.
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do you like SteemitBoard's project? Then Vote for its witness and get one more award!

i will be watching you..this seems interesting

Thanks for the kind words

No need to be a masochist to run well... but a bit of pain could make you stronger. ;)
@amico

Resteemed by @runningproject

an Ironman now? WTF!!!
You are very strong man...

Thanks mate, sometimes I think it can be more mind over matter.
Regards @run.vince.run

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by run.vince.run from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.