The @runningproject Fast Friday - 8

Quick And Dirty Running Tips Every Friday - Running To Work

adventure-athlete-daylight-235922.jpg

Why not? It's the question I've been asking for years. So many people think "ride a bike to work" or walk little extra, but I think this is one over looked way to get in some extra kilometers while you are using some wasted time. I know it's not for every one, but is it time to ask yourself if using your commute time as a run, could be for you.

If you're still not convinced, have a look at the following 5 things to remember if you decide to start running to work as your commute.

  1. It's Wasted Time, So Use It. If your commuting 20km one way, this may be a little too much to run, but you could always get off the train of bus a few stops early and run the rest of your trip. You could also leave it to only your morning or evening commute depending on how you feel.

  2. The Lighter You Pack The Easier It Will Be. The more you carry on your back, the slower you are going to run, and the more energy you are going to use. Think ahead and leave clothes or towels at work in the lead up to your run. You'll get really good at only packing the essentials.

  3. Run For Improved Endurance, But Maybe Not Speed. One thing I learned early on when I started running as my commute was that it's a great way to improve your endurance, but not so much your speed. You may need to add in a speed session once or twice a week to make sure your speed is also getting the attention it needs.

  4. A Good Backpack Is Almost Like Good Shoes. Just like you would spend a little time buying a new pair of running shoes, you should also spend a little time looking for a good backpack for your run. If it rubs in the wrong place, you are going to be uncomfortable for a long time. It should also move or jump around as little as possible to make sure you are running smoothly.

  5. Build Distance Slowly Like You Normally Would. You wouldn't do a marathon without building up your distance first. You should be doing the same with your commute. Start with a manageable chunk of distance and then build up, soon you'll be running to and from work every day, with some handy endurance behind you.

About the Author
Hey I'm Vince, an Aussie living in New Zealand, trying my best to make the most of the time I have. I work as a Software Engineer but love to run and all aspects of it, including geeking out on the latest science to help get the most out of my body.

For more information about @runningproject please see the latest status report:
https://steemit.com/runningproject/@runningproject/runningproject-how-to-get-involved-and-become-an-approved-runner

Check out our previous "Fast Friday Post" here:

Written by @run.vince.run on behalf of the @runningproject

Sort:  

Congratulations @runningproject! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard supports the SteemFest⁴ Travel Reimbursement Fund.
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I have contemplated running home. It's about 10 miles, depending on what route I take. I've cycled it lots of times, but only tend to do it once a week. I did it both ways in a day once. I could do with a decent backpack if I'm going to do it. Maybe I should get one with a water bladder.