Sunday's Long Run

in #runningproject6 years ago

After the race Saturday, I realized how much hills give me trouble in running.

Around here we don't have much elevation at all. Most of the areas I run through are very flat. Saturday's race really reminded me how much I need to work on hills.

So for Sunday's long run I decided to run to a well-known place in the area for hills. It is a special little road that we call "Billboard Hills". The reason it is called that is because it is a small service road off the interstate that has lots of billboards on it for the interstate. No one ever drives down that road and it has lots of hills.

I live about three miles from there so I just decided to turn it into my run for the day. I ran there and ran about 8-9 miles of hills and then ran home.

I felt pretty good for the most part. It was a bit challenging but I am happy with the outcome:

splits.png

I know some of you are probably laughing at the elevation profile. I'm telling you we don't have many hills here!

elevation.png

That's the reason I ran a small two mile strip over and over haha. We have less than two weeks until the marathon. I'm going to start tapering and getting more rest. I want to be really fresh for the race.

Follow my training on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

Oh, I really do not like hills. Would be good for me to add this a bit more to my training as well. Thank you for reminding me about this! Keep the good work!

Not many significant hills here either. We have to drive to find some big challeging ones for a long run but we can just about make a hill effort session from the smaller ones we have in town.

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

We don't have much in the way of hills either, but I run up what there is locally. When I'm at my sister's in Edinburgh I can really test myself.

Hills can be brutal sometimes, but I actually prefer to have changes in elevation during my runs just to get different muscle fiber recruitment. One of Atlanta's running slogans is "heat, hills, and humidity" so I am never lacking in hill training! Though I could do without some of the humidity. :) Great run! Hope you feel awesome for race day!

I know how you feel about the humidity. I live in Mississippi. Summers can be very brutal for running!!!

Hills are everywhere in the area I live! It's hard to find a course that's longer than a few km that's relatively flat. It makes for good training but some days I crave a nice flat course that I can run at a fast pace.

I heard a good quote recently... Hills are speedwork in disguise :)