Weekly Running Review: February 12-18, 2018

in #runningproject6 years ago

weekly run review (2).jpg

Here's another weekly run review. It is a day or two late, but I still want to go over and review last week. It was filled with some great lessons and insightful information that I can use going forward in training.

Goal Miles for the Week: 50 miles
Total Miles for the Week: 50.9 miles

Monday February 12, 2018
Easy afternoon run. Only 5.34 miles. It was a recovery run from the long run the day before.

Tuesday February 13, 2018
Rest day. Took the rest day like I needed. Did some core workouts.

Wednesday February 14, 2018
Speed workouts 😜 and Valentine's Day!
We did 8 x 800 meters (with 30 second rest) + 200 meter. Ouch. This was a quick workout but it was a good one. I go into further detail in my post: https://steemit.com/running/@whizkid1/about-last-night-speed-work-valentine-s-scavenger-hunt

Thursday February 15, 2018
Went for an 8 mile easy run at a comfortable pace. I was still a little sore from the Wednesday workout.

Friday February 16, 2018
Rest day. #respectrestday

Saturday February 17, 2018
Saturday was challenging a challenging race day. I go over details in my previous post: https://steemit.com/runningproject/@whizkid1/race-report-saturday-workout

For the most part, I loved the workout and race. It was pushed me out of my comfort zone. It was interesting running a speedy 10K before a 10K race. It was a great practice for being fatigued. I think that'll come in handy in the marathon. I learned a valuable lesson. I need to work on running hills more.

Sunday February 18, 2018
I ran mostly hills on my long run. I explain in my long run running report: https://steemit.com/runningproject/@whizkid1/sunday-s-long-run

There's about 10 days until the marathon. Overall I'm feeling great. I'm going to take these last few days for tapering and lowering my volume so I can show up to the race very fresh. I feel like my fitness is there. My only concern is the weather. The race is in New Orleans (which is below sea level). Although the race is very flat, it will be warm and humid. That's a big concern in long distance racing.

Hope you all have a great week running!

Follow my training on Strava: https://www.strava.com/athletes/14654723

Sort:  

Run often. Run long. But never outrun your joy of running.
-Julie Isphording

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Remember to vote your Running Author of the week!

That's a good mix of sessions. Enjoy your taper and don't be tempted to do too much!

I'm so looking forward to it. I'm already redlining :)

That's a lot of miles. Enjoy it

Yes sir. Will do!

Good work! Marathon is close... fingers crossed!