Celebrating Breaking The Barrier #RunYourMile

in #runyourmile6 years ago

I have only been a "runner" for just over 8 years and in that time I've enjoyed the variety the sport can offer: 10k, marathon, parkrun, coaching and cross country. However one thing in particular has grabbed my attention - track running.

Four years ago was the 60th anniversary of a special moment in athletics and it caught my imagination. Here's an excerpt from a blog I wrote (https://runningdanw.wordpress.com/2016/05/06/breaking-the-barrier-the-4-minute-mile/) a while back:

"The year was 1954 – a different time. Queen Elizabeth II was just a year into her reign, post-war sugar rationing had not long come to an end, little more than 25% of families had a television and the human body was stubbornly refusing to run a mile in less than four minutes. Until a 25-year-old junior doctor named Roger Bannister returned to the Oxford University track at Iffley Road."

It inspired me to try out the mile and as a result
I looked to find 59 others to try it for themselves to gather 60 miles for the 60th anniversary. And #RunYourMile was born.

runyourmile.png

Sadly, the legendary Sir Roger Bannister passed away earlier this year. I had been considering of bringing the #RunYourMile back this year so what a great way to celebrate Bannister's life.

So, can I find 64 steemians to run a single mile as fast as they can to celebrate the 64th anniversary of the first 4 minute mile?

#RunYourMile Challenge Rules

The challenge starts now and runs for 8 weeks.
I will post a summary post each week to feature who has run where.

  1. Run a single mile as fast as you can, recording it with a run tracking app
  2. Create a blog post on SteemIt describing your mile and what it means to you, with photos if you wish
  3. Add images to show the route and stats, with a link to the full data if you wish
  4. Make sure #RunYourMile is in the post title and the tags
  5. Add a link to your post as a comment on the latest #RunYourMile challenge post (so this week post it on this post)
  6. Add a link to the latest #RunYourMile challenge post in your post
  7. Upvote and resteem the latest #RunYourMile challenge post

At the end of the 8 weeks I'll total up the value of the #RunYourMile posts and reward the fastest, most interesting, most challenging miles, best story, best photo and anything else I think is deserving!

Let's see what happens! Go #RunYourMile now!

Sort:  

I'm game!

I’m in!

Great. Look forward to seeing your mile.

I'm up for that. I just funny expect to be anywhere near 4 minutes

There or there abouts; how hard can it be?! ;-)

Yep, thats exciting...look forward to seeing everyones posts
Regards @run.vince.run

Good challenge!!! I'm planning to run a mile in a few weeks ;-)

“Dwell on the beauty of life. Watch the stars, and see yourself running with them.”
― Marcus Aurelius, Meditations

Resteemed by @runningproject

Kind reminder:

Vote for your Running Author of the Week 10!