What they didn't want you to see at Russia WC 2018

in #russia6 years ago

Over the course of June/July 2018 many Westerners are discovering something I already knew a long time ago.

Russia is a wonderful country. A country full of history, full of welcoming, kind and friendly people (whom bar the language are not too dissimilar from us). The food is good, the trains are old (but run like clockwork), it's not always cold (it's very hot in Summer!) and yes good quality Vodka is very cheap, plentiful and kept in the freezer!

I am not a bot, I am an Englishman with an opinion gained from experience. My credentials? I've visited Russia on 9 separate occasions within the last 7 years. I never once encountered a spot of bother, in fact quite to the contrary. Russian's I met in bars, pubs and clubs (men and women) were all very friendly.

I can honestly say I felt safer walking around 3 different cities at night in Russia than I do walking down my local High Street near London on a Friday evening. 

Not what the BBC would have you believe.

I was married in Russia, my wife a Ukrainian/Russian lives with me in the UK, she speaks fluent English (as well as German and Spanish in addition to her native tongues (I pluralize as she speaks Ukrainian and Russian)). When we were married my family and friends came to Russia for our wedding. There was trepidation about vising big scary Russia. The media had done their job. My family and friends minds were soon changed once they had experienced Russia and met it's people for themselves. They now share my thoughts and experiences and see the country and it's people in a positive light.

The World Cup has been a huge success, it's shown Russia for what it really is, a great country full of wonderful people.

The Western governments won't like this. Wait for the ramping up of anti Russia propaganda in our press spearheaded by the BBC and approach with absolute caution.