Hi Steemit! As an English speaker, what is the best way to learn Russian?

in #russia7 years ago

Russian_Flag_with_map.png

Hello Steemit!

I would very much like to learn to speak/read/write Russian. What are some good websites, books, documents, etc. to aid in my pursuit of this task? I've outlined some good questions below:

Question 1

What are some major roadblocks I might stumble into along the way? What is the first roadblock I might face and how do I overcome it?

Question 2

Once I have a good grasp of the alphabet and basic vocabulary should I be looking into conversational Russian? Or should I do more before trying to grasp speaking the language?

Question 3

Is there an order to learning? Should I spend time on alphabet, vocabulary, pronunciation, conversations, etc. or should I focus on one or two of those first?

Question 4

English speakers out there, what helpful advice would you give me?

Please leave comments, I believe Steemit is a place where I can get some really good information about language acquisition. I think I will post progress Stories as I learn the language.

Sort:  

go get a Russian girlfriend?

Congratulations @ominous.shark! You have completed some achievement on Steemit and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

Award for the number of upvotes
Award for the number of upvotes received

Click on any badge to view your own Board of Honnor on SteemitBoard.
For more information about SteemitBoard, click here

If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

By upvoting this notification, you can help all Steemit users. Learn how here!

Cool! I follow you.

Congratulations @ominous.shark! You received a personal award!

Happy Birthday! - You are on the Steem blockchain for 2 years!

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

The Steem community has lost an epic member! Farewell @woflhart!
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!