They Just Keep Getting Bigger!

in #rusticgreen7 years ago (edited)

I love when a client asks me to create a big piece for them which will be a focal point in their home. This latest piece was the biggest one I have done to date. It didn't disappoint!

Lopez Piece 1.jpg

I used primarily reclaimed Cedar and new Spruce Lathes. I was fortunate to find a local neighbor who was getting rid of an old Cedar Deck and I claimed the whole pile for free! Cedar wood is great to use when creating large pieces because it is lightweight. Cedar is also good because it has a low moisture content meaning you can avoid the issue of wood shrinkage.

I staggered the pieces so they have various depths. The green accents are the lowest depth in which I just simply painted the plywood backboard green. This technique adds another dimension of depth and is very interesting when you get to see it in person.

As you can see this piece is bigger than me! Yes that is me standing beside my latest creation. My 7 year old son took the picture and he also helped me brad nail a few of the pieces down. My little woodworker in training!

Lopez Piece.jpg

It was an absolute Joy making this custom order! The clients were very pleased and will be sending me an updated picture of it hung in their home.

Have a good one! Cheers,

Courtney