Southeastern Ceremonial Complex Golf Discs

in #sacredgeometry6 years ago (edited)

I'd had the images in my head, which I originally thought to etch into gourds. The common themes are always circular patterns, often medicine wheels, a warrior holding a severed head, or chunky players (an ancient game that might remind someone of field hockey). So, I was inspired to freehand with a sharpie some of these legendary motifs on my golf discs. My hand isn't as steady as I would like but the faded original logos came off really easily with magic eraser.


raw-24.jpeg


Here is spider grandmother, who was the only creature on earth successful in crossing the sky all the way to the sun, and to return alive with stolen fire which she carried back in a basket spun of her silk. She offered it to all of the animals and none wanted it so she gave it to humanity who is greedy and accepts anything offered. Spider webs are certainaly a spin of sacred geometry, and the spider was an important symbol and character in many tribes creation beliefs.


raw-23.jpeg


Here is the woodpecker motif, symbolic of the four energies of the sun, and as most shell gorget designs it serves as a diagram or map to create a medicine wheel or sacred stone circle. Note the circles around the parameter; these are the unseen energies, which are often symbolized by winged serpents or dragons in some cultures... but the actual Southeastern Ceremonial Complex/Mississippian and Sacred Geometry articles are yet to come as its such an incredibly deep array of subects.

Can't wait to use them and today is beautiful so I'm headed outside. There are a lot more symbols I'd like to incorporate and half a dozen more disc-canvases, and I'll share them as they develop! Thanks for having a look! If these images struck your fancy, try googling Southeastern Ceremonial Complex shell gorgets! By just studying over these artifacts you can learn so much about spirituality and you will catch-on to the interconnectedness of all ancient cultures and magic.

Sort:  

Sacred geometry is a fascinating subject. Look forward to seeing more

I have a spider grandmother rock.

very cool designs.