Safety

in #safety6 years ago

"Oyigbo, Aba road" the conductor shouted

morning-1069218__480.jpgimage

I waved my hand signalling I was going his way and he tapped the vehicle a way of telling the driver that a passenger was going their way

"Where you dey go?" Asked the driver

"Timber" I replied as I hopped into the bus going to Timber bus top to deliver The new #De_Right Dried and smoke-dried periwinkle to a customer

"Enter top am small' the conducted said to the driver as we drove close to a fuel station

Immediately we got to the station a Lady from behind picked an incoming call as the driver stationed his vehicle to get the fuel.

The passenger sitting close to me Jumped out of the vehicle immediately

"Driver, off your engine na" said the lady whose ear was still glued to her phone

"Madam, you nko, you no know say na your own worse?" Said a man at the back who has been talking ever since I got into the bus

"What is wrong? There's nothing wrong with picking a call in a fuel Station" She replied authoritavely

"Wait, let me show you my I.D card"

"I'm a safety personell working with shell"

"Madam Shell or no Shell, what you did was wrong, So what makes you different from the driver who refused to switch off his engine" said another passenger

"Safety rules are the same everywhere whether Shell or NNPC, I worked as a contract staff with Shell years back and its a major safety rule there" Said another passenger as the noise emanating from the bus was becoming louder

"Did you people even go to School?" The Shell safety personell snapped back

"Attend Safety Seminars, Conferences and Workshops and you'll stop arguing foolishly "

"Eh, we don hear Madam Shell, na the Seminar we dey go sef " Said a young Lady sitting by my side

"She talk true Madam" Said the driver "We dey go the Seminar sef"

"Me and my conductor go attend too, so we go stop this bus work begin work for Shell"

The laughter that came after that was enough to ease the stress of a whole week.