You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: [Internet Safety] Phishing Attacks

in #safety6 years ago

Very informative post, @johngreenfield.
Thanks for dubmitting it to the contest.

I see you mention Paypal. Years ago they released some security warnings that would allow you to detect a fake email.
It was a long time ago, and the one thing I remember is that real Paypal messages always start with ‘dear youractualname’.
Not with ‘dear customer’ or ‘dear client’
Nevertheless, I never click links in emails. I just go to the correct site I bookmarked in my browser and log in there...

Sort:  

Thank you so much!

I can't remember the last time I opened an actual PayPal email, wouldn't surprise me if they all just went to spam now. You know, not clicking links in emails and going to the actual site is probably the simplest and easy to follow advice. I tend to do the same, although I get a bit lazier when it comes to using mobile devices.
Thanks for reading, and it's such a good idea for a contest, you've no doubt helped spread awareness here.

I truly hope so, although I’ll still be only be able to reach a small part of the community. I addressed some of the bigger guys, asking them to review, give feedback and maybe resteem - just hoping to reach as many members as possible. I still come across people who don’t even know there is a phishing scam going on...

I guess all you can hope is to be able to help those around you, and in turn hope they do the same to their circles. It's heartbreaking to see so many compromised accounts, getting drained and then flagged to hell. It's hard for me to comprehend people are still unaware at this point, at least you're doing your part to help!