Saying adieu to Brigit

in #sailing2 months ago (edited)

Woke up very early due to last night's YouTube sleeping pill. You know, when you put a YouTube video on and pass out long before it ends. Thomas Sheridan never fails me in that regard; only to be outdone by the Event Horizon channel. That is more likely attributable to the cadence and rhythm of John's voice.

Seems like Monday's can have reality hit you hard. While digging out my new phone for hotspot-ting it was noted there was a voicemail awaiting. This was a surprise as most of my voice stuff still comes in on my NS registered VOIP number.

It was from Katie at Beta Marine Canada asking for verbal confirmation to put the engine parts charge on my credit card, which had been supplied during the order. It had seemed to me like a done deal. Not so for Katie. (Monday morning pressures started rising.)

beta-marine-logo.jpg

My schedule is not a strict one. So long as the Nova Scotian shores can be seen sometime in August that's fine by me. This is the luxury of being an old retired fart, or A Rusty Seadog; which is a nom de plume that may warrant its own HIVE account soon. But for people like Jose, the diesel mechanic, who would like to use his time efficiently or the Marina who would like to move me to a temporary slip before the end of the month, schedules matter and the parts getting here is important to meet those schedules.

It took a number of calls to reach Katie at Beta Marine, due to the fact she was located in British Columbia a couple of time zones away. My calls were ringing to an empty office. (Pressure rising a little more.)

Finally got through to find that nothing had yet been shipped. By paying an additional $100 shipping she could put a rush on it get the parts to Scarborough by Thursday. She seemed a very nice lady. She expressed her apologies for the mis-communication. She received my understanding and appreciation of expediting things for me. (Pressure drops slightly.)

Now to give the news to Jose. Called him voice and he took it like a trooper. Said that he could move some other jobs around and leave Thursday open. (Pressure begins to level.)

The real choke point for me was Chris, the former owner.

Imagine this man who has just gone through a challenging health issue. He has sold his boat lock stock and barrel. He has no further obligation to it. He then comes over this past Saturday to the boat while the purchaser (me) is out bobbing on the waves living the life fandango. Meanwhile Chris works on finishing putting up some of the trim along the gunnels and straightening out the pile of items gathering under the weather shade of Makina's hull. Sails in bags, an anchor, the bimini poles, etc..

He then drops me a text that he didn't get around to putting in the new water and bilge pump but would be back on Wednesday! That is what was making my pressure rise, the fear of Jose and Chris competing for the same engine access on Wednesday. As it turns out we shall not have to ask Chris to reschedule his time. Time which is incredibly appreciated under the circumstance of him having no obligation to offer it.

There are likely exceptions yet the sailing community seem like a very gracious and welcoming tribe. The only entry is having something that floats, though with a good crewmember that is not a strict requirement.

Prepared myself by midmorning to head up to the marina's facilities, the one that the codes had been elusive to say the least.

leaving-brigit.jpg

Brigit had grown on me. She took me back to my very early days in sailing before my Father had graduated up to an Acadian Yawl we had a twenty some footer which could have water showing above the portals if one had some good gusts. We never took Brigit to that point yet there was water in the gunnels a few times. She's fun to sail. She reminded me of the confidence of my younger self and exercised those muscle memories for me.

brigit.jpg

Just as Brigit would be fondly missed, so too would the crew that had been with me. My hope and expectation is to have another weekend sailing under Jason's instructions. Hopefully Ann may be able to work it into her schedule as well. It would be great having them both on the Makina for a couple of days.

the-crew.jpg

The code which Jason texted yesterday worked as suspected, but instead of taking a shower the rest of the building was explored. It turned out that it has all the mod cons including hot awaiting coffee, comfortable chairs and a great table to work on this post. Can't believe that Jason had kept this so under his hat. Maybe it is part of the mariner's training.

Sixteen hours sleeping in a narrow berth. Check!

Meanwhile in the clubhouse...

club-house.jpg

Fresh hot coffee awaiting!!!!

coffee-house.jpg

The plan is to call the local taxi company and get a short lift with all my gear near to where the bus does its pickups; which for me shall be about 15:45. Not expecting to get a chance to blog again until Scarborough is reached so will post this for now.

May the wind be at your back!

-------
A chronological listing of my sailing posts:
https://hive.blog/sailing/@novacadian/novacadian-s-blog-index-sailing