IPL 2018: I See Shakib Al Hasan More As Companion Than Competition, Says Yusuf Pathan

in #sakib6 years ago

© AFP
Yusuf Pathan was an integral part of Rajasthan Royals' title victory in 2008 before being bought by Kolkata Knight Riders (KKR), where he won two titles with the team - 2012 and 2014. After spending seven years at KKR, Pathan is set for another inning with SunRisers Hyderabad (SRH) in the 11th edition of the Indian Premier League (IPL). Pathan, who expected KKR to buy him through RTM in the IPL 2018 players' auction, was bought by SRH for Rs. 1.9 crore.

Ahead of the IPL 2018, NDTV.com caught up with the Baroda all-rounder and asked about his seven-year stay at KKR, India comeback and plans ahead with his new team SRH.
Q: It has been a long time since we saw the Pathan brother in India colours....
Yusuf Pathan: I am sure this will happen soon. I have been asked this question quite often. I am glad that fans love us and appreciate the Pathan brothers for their contribution to Team India. We are eyeing a comeback to the Indian side. I am focusing more on domestic games but those performances do not get highlighted much. We both are working hard to wear the blue jersey again.

We both are focusing on the Yo-Yo test also. Recently, we scored pretty well in the test. I am doing early morning long endurance. Fitness is as important as cricket activities. Apart from exercise, I spend more time at the nets.

Q: Seven years is a long period. How has been the journey with KKR?
YP: It was a memorable journey. Aside from the star-studded unit we had over the years, the most important thing about KKR was that it was like a family, right from the captain, to the owner and the management. We enjoyed each other's company and supported each other through our ups and downs. The credit for the success of any team goes to the captain. Under the leadership of Gautam Gambhir, KKR as a whole was greater than the sum of its counterparts. This gave us the confidence that we could beat any team that came up against us.

Q: Sunrisers won the IPL title in 2016. Do you think you can add some strength to the team to win the title this time?
YP: Definitely. We have a strong batting line-up and I will look to contribute in the middle order, as well as adding variety to the bowling attack with my off-spin, whenever required.

Q: Will we see the same Yusuf Pathan this year? The one who has been entertaining us for many years?
YP: Absolutely. Every year is a new challenge, and I am preparing myself for it. I'm currently playing in the Dhaka Premier League. Hopefully this season, I will be able to come stronger.shakib-al-hasan-yusuf-pathan-afp_806x605_51522753426.webp
Capture.PNG

Sort:  

Are you new here bro...I'm from bangladesh

yes bro..and i aslo from bangladesh

it was a great post.i like your post.

Good Information for Bangladesh

nice post. very much informative

I proud of Bangladesh team.