Sort:  

It was right on the Wisconsin border,100 miles from the city. . I remember my dad taking us in one time to the airport to watch planes take off and land, and once to the Museum of Science and Industry, but other than that Chicago was foreign territory to me as a kid.

I have a friend who taught Spanish in that area, but don't remember the name of the tiny Town he was in. He said it was basically on the WI border.

My tiny town is no longer tiny. When I graduated from high school there were under 500 students in the school. Now enrollment pushes 2000 plus. The school has purchased blocks of nearby housing and torn the houses down to build new athletic fields and parking lots.

When I was in school my Spanish teacher was horrible. He was having sex with one of the students in between classes and shortly after she graduated they ended up getting married. Needless to say the marriage did not last too long

Eweww. He'd have been thrown in prison today.

Apparently, the Spanish teacher my friend took over for hadn't been doing any actual teaching.

I didn't learn much in my HS Spanish class. His love interest was in my class and she was either sitting on his desk whispering in his ear or he was flirting with her and teaching us suggestive sentences. I walked out mid term and walked to the guidance counselors office and dropped the class. I had all A's so it was unheard of! Thankfully I didn't need the credit and could be as rebellious as I wanted to get my point across 😉I don't think he ever got in any trouble over it. Thankfully things have changed since the early 70s!