Sam-saturday--Something About.Me

SAM Saturday challenge by @bluemoon is a wonderful way for all of us to get to know a little more about each other.

SAM rules

I love nature. Flowers and trees and birds.... And rocks. My #sam-saturday post today is also for #fridaysrock challenge by @nat-expressions

We don't have a variety of rocks in Wisconsin like others do. Almost everything here is limestone. So when I travel I simply can't resist bringing home any cool rocks that I find.

I have piles of some of my favorites scattered about out in the yard.

image

I brought these two home from Arizona and keep them on my bookshelf.

image

This one is a lovely shade of purple,

image

The southwestern part of the US really does have some cool rocks!

image

And this one appears to have silvery deposits in it that I couldn't get to show up well in a photo.

image

image

image

So I know nothing about these, except that I thought that they were pretty!

Hope everyone has a great weekend!

Rockin Steemians

#fridaysrock by @nat-expressions

#rockhound & @rockhounds by @bitfiend

#mineralmondays by @rt395

#mountainmonday by @keithboone

#bouldersunday by @shasta

Shadow Photo Contest Round 48- Arched Shadows



Posted with eSteem

if you want to try using eSteem, but have questions, feel free to ask! I'd be happy to help!

Do you use eSteem?
eSteem is a Mobileiphone& PCcomputer app. for Steem with great features. Also, you get Incentives posting through eSteem apps.

eSteem Spotlight; eSteem provides rewards for it top users in Leader Board with most Posts, Comments and Highest Earners.

Download eSteem for your Mobileiphone
Android devices Google Play Store
IOS devices Apple Store

Download eSteem Surfer for your PCcomputer
Available for all OS Github


Join eSteem Discord https://discord.gg/UrTnddT

Join eSteem Telegram http://t.me/esteemapp

Proud to be a member of The Steemians Directory

image

Sort:  

pixresteemer_incognito_angel_mini.png
Congratz, your post has been resteemed and, who knows, will maybe appear in the next edition of the #dailyspotlights (Click on my face if you want to know more about me...)
Check the rules of the Daily Spotlights if you want to nominate someone!
Pixresteemer is also listed as promoter on The Steemians Directory

Congratulations @melinda010100! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 28000 replies. Your next target is to reach 28500 replies.

Click here to view your Board of Honor
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

good post and beautiful photography my sister

Thank you! Are things going better for you here?

Que hermosas rocas sra @Melinda010100 son bastante raras... saludos espero se encuentre bien..

¡gracias! Espero que tengas un maravilloso fin de semana.

You rock my dear ! I knew it already ^_^

I'm running out of things about me to do a SAM post about! Can you tell? It gets harder each week to think of something.

I feel the same my dear, I don't feel like there are so many things to tell about me, but of course I'm wrong...LoL...it's just that I am not a lot on the writing part of my life, more the drawing & painting interests me at this time, so it is a bit difficult for me to write about me...
Maybe you could trick your mind by begining with picking randomly a photo in your box, photobook or computer, and see what memory is attached on it, and if you feel to write about it, then let your imagination speak and charm us with your memories we all so appreciate here (can be memory of last week, it has nothing to do with age of course...LoL)

This is a very interesting passion, Melinda. Your post reminds me of my father. He was always collecting rocks and working in a Geological lab really helped him filling the house with different stones. My mom was always saying that we are living in a quarry. 😂

Hahaha! I don't have THAT many! You could probably be in my house and never notice them at all. I think I would have liked your dad, and your mom!

Surely you have loved my dad. He was quite a funny character with his clumsiness and social skills (he loved to talk, I bet he would have beaten janton 😂). My mom has a different personality: calm and not so social. But equally funny. They made a cool couple. 🙂

He must have been a big talker... I I'm not sure if janton is a big talker, or just a really fast typer! He is also really good at asking the right questions to keep the conversation going. He will be the leaderboard winner this month on eSteem and I am so glad he has joined us there! I wish I could have known your parents.

Yes, having janton on eSteem is a huge progress for the app. His dedication to Steemit should be an example. People like him are making things happen. 🙂

Its like art collecting. Collect what you like :) simple

Truth! Do you collect anything?

Not really. I guess it goes the same with art appreciation. View and study what you like. You will learn and then find more stuff you like.

Thanks for using eSteem!
Your post has been voted as a part of eSteem encouragement program. Keep up the good work! Install Android, iOS Mobile app or Windows, Mac, Linux Surfer app, if you haven't already!
Learn more: https://esteem.app
Join our discord: https://discord.gg/8eHupPq

Howdy Melinda! Those are some great rocks! I would keep them all over the house too. At my parent's house growing up we had big sections of tree trunks that they got from the Petrified Forest in Arizona back when you could pick pieces up and take them, must have been in the 40's.

There are places outside the National Park that have piles of petrified wood for sale. Of course it is strictly illegal to pick up any of it inside the park these days, but it can still be collected off private property and sold. And it appears there is no shortage in that area.

they are so fascinating, those big pieces. I wonder how much they cost? I heard they were very expensive but it's good to know that you can still buy it if you want.

Interesting composite rocks, you've found there. I wonder what processes produced those, but am not much of a geologist.

Have you ever found petosky stones? My family used to go camping near Luddington, MI every year and we would look for petosky stones on both sides of the lake. They're getting to be a lot more rare than they once were.

I have a couple that I collected from a beach near Petoskey several years ago! These are the three that I found image

Not the finest specimens, but I love that I found them myself.

Nice! I think the largest I ever found was maybe an inch long.

I found these early in the spring not long after the ice had gone off the lake. There had not been a lot of beachcombers yet because the weather was quite cold.

nice stone..what is he so light..I like limestone but unique colored ..

You have a nice collection Melinda! I'm always amazed how beautiful some rocks can be. The texture they have to offer is amazing.

It's probably not really a collection. They are just scattered around the house on bookshelfs and in flower pots. I always think of a collection as being displayed together on shelves with labels. My rocks just move in and make themselves at home!

That's the beauty of it, they are rearranging your place.

I have already got a shallow pool of water that wasn't there before! I will get to have a whole different View.

There are times that I also choose a rock because it is pretty. Some rocks just seem to call my name. I can totally relate to what you are saying. :)

Some people just don't get it, but I knew you would! 😊

They're really beautiful.

i like the idea of using stones as book holders :D woow, you have found some cool, nice stones :D

i also like nature my friend..
You are so kind.. Nice post. thanks for share with us.

Hello friend. Is that an agate? Honestly, I like to see the red stone breaking. All the stones produce light that makes my eyes interested in having it
Thanks for this @melinda010100

Nice rocks collection, especially the silver one, just like you, usually when I visit a place, I'll bring home some rocks, but I always lost it... I guess my mom threw it away 😂

You sure got some awesome rocks ❤ @melinda010100!!!

It is a pleasure to discover passions similar to others. I like stones, but I do not have a collection like yours, @melinda010100. Beautiful! Thanks for your posts in SAM, so different from each other. I'm glad you still find topics.

Thanks for hosting this fun Saturday topic!