Steemit Achievers Singing Challenge Part 2: "Leader of the Band"

in #sascsong6 years ago (edited)

This is my entry to @g10a's singing challenge. Thank you so much for hosting this.

I'm sorry for the mistakes. There was a lot :)


Leader of the Band

(I removed the video. It was too "cringeworthy".)


  • The line "Papa, I don't think I said "I love you" near enough." struck me so hard.
    I'm not the kind of daughter who likes to express my feelings to my father. I feel shy whenever I say cheesy or sappy things to him. He knows that I love him but I am not vocal about telling him that.

But when I read the lyrics, I immediately regret not telling him often how much I appreciate and love him. So I plan on telling him when I get home later tonight.



Lyrics:


"Leader Of The Band"
•~•~•


An only child, alone and wild, a cabinet maker's son,
His hands were meant for different work and his heart was known to none.
He left his home and went his lone and solitary way
And he gave to me a gift I know I never can repay.

~
A quiet man of music, denied a simpler fate,
He tried to be a soldier once but his music wouldn't wait.
He earned his love through discipline, a thund'ring, velvet hand.
His gentle means of sculpting souls took me years to understand

~
The leader of the band is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through my instrument and his song is in my soul.
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man.
I'm just a living legacy to the leader of the band.

~
My brothers' lives were different, for they heard another call.
One went to Chicago and the other to Saint Paul
And I'm in Colorado when I'm not in some hotel
Living out this life I've chosen, come to know so well.

~
I thank you for the music and your stories of the road
I thank you for the freedom when it came my time to go
I thank you for the kindness and the times when you got tough
And, Papa, I don't think I said "I love you" near enough.

~
The leader of the band is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through my instrument and his song is in my soul.
My life has been a poor attempt to imitate the man.
I'm just a living legacy to the leader of the band.
I am the living legacy to the leader of the band.

•~•~•


It was embarrassing when I started to record this. I felt self-conscious because my friends, @kneelyrac and @ynothna29, were there. Still, I swallowed the embarrassment. Haha. Sorry for being maarte. Peace in.



Anyway, thanks for visiting.


Love lots,
  • tomogiroe ♥♥♥

PLEASE ALSO READ THIS.

•~•~•

I encourage you all to support and vote Terry,

@surpassinggoogle

as your witness.

Just click here and type 'steemgigs' on the first box.
a.png
b.png

Thank you so much! ❤❤❤

U5dtTkKheiGA5GsgxJfpP9pgg1YV4Bc_1680x8400.png
STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF.gif

Sort:  

dzaaaahhh.,.. iba talaga.. hahaha... go argine!!!

Hahahahaha. Ikaw sad unta Jen.

maka suya ang tingog uy!

Naaaaah, wala man mo nagpost. Sayang ang efforts. Awat2 ra biya unta ko ninyo. 😭

yay! what a beautiful tingug(voice) mem.. :)

The leader of the band is tired and his eyes are growing old
But his blood runs through my instrument and his song is in my soul

This made me miss my father back there in Philippines.

Salamat kaayo Sir. And thank you for hosting this challenge.

pretty, smart and talented!

Hala friend, ikaw jud na ang mo-fit sa description ba. 😊❤ bitaw uy, thank you soooo much! 😚

nice dzaaai..

i really like this song!

Thank you 😊

You got all it takes to be the winner dear. A follow back won't be bad tho

Thank you so much! 😊

Nice one @tomogiroe, the last part made my tears fall, it made me missed my father so much....

Show your love to your father while still you can...

Thank you so much Sir! I was not expecting to cry at the last part. It was embarrassing. Hihi.

And yes, I will definitely show him.

Very nice @tomogiroe.. Goodluck.! I love the song.

Salamat kaayo. And good luck to you too. Good luck to us! 😊

I must admit you will be giving everyone a run for their money. Good luck to you. Awesome.

Thank you Sir. And I also love your entry. It's very soothing.

Anyway, good luck to us! 😊

hahah! karon pako kita ani madam!

Hahahahaha. Wa ka nag-pass! Hmp!

Great voice nice keep up on singing there is a lot more coming from @g10a soon.

Thank you so much! And I will be sure to keep an eye for more from @g10a. 😊