You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Saving SBD - Proposal to Restore the $1 USD / $1 SBD Peg

in #sbd7 years ago (edited)

I think for the most part we are in agreement. I do feel very strongly in protecting the peg, but I also feel very strongly in not breaking the SBD->STEEM conversion 'contract' as well. Both are important responsibilities of the witnesses, and unfortunately the current situation makes us chose between the two.

There are very valid arguments to be made in favor of breaking the contract in favor of the peg, so you won't see me arguing against that. On the other side though, there is also 'real' damage done by breaking the contract in favor of the peg too. It is a very tough decision / judgement call, but personally I have chosen to favor the contract over the peg at this point in time.

I think that attests for why a change like this is needed though. If there is no good way to maintain both the peg and the contract under what we can only assume are relatively 'normal' conditions for the crypto-world, then I think it is an indication that a change is needed.