Before you go throwing your SBD to the wind on steemit.chat to scammers remember this warning. A warning to the general steemit community.

in #scam7 years ago (edited)


get-me-out-1605906_960_720.jpg



sam scam 4.jpg

When you see a screenshot like this, you wonder what transpired in the first place.
Well here is how it went: A number of people who decided to take the extra step to secure votes for themselves and got swindled of the SBD's they so craved.
Desperation is a tool that scammers use when they want to swindle an innocent person off his/her sbd/steem.


Why do people scam?

The people who do so, do it because they are lazy and impatient. However, what people do not realize is that scamming requires patience as they have to hope to catch a victim.
Why opt for scamming when steemit has offered you a gift? Because some suckers are always available 24/7 just making themselves available to be scammed.


First case

The first case is that of a scammer using the @val-a name to scam on steemit chat

sam scam.jpeg

The victim (because he was scammed), actually felt he was addressing the real person. Sadly I became aware of it after the deed had been done, but a simple investigation starting from the tone of the chat could have solved the case before it even happened.


From the image above, the highlighted "X" shows some errors the person could have seen, although not all were visible. If the person had toured the blog of the real @val-a, the person would have avoided a disaster.
Let us take a look...

Screenshot (356).png

The real person has given all of His SP as delegation to the curie project and a trip to his blog will prove that. Let us assume for the sake of ignorance, we can also use another way to determine how much his remaining SP is worth as an upvote, we go to www.steemnow.com and input his name into the place for name and hit search and see the results.

Screenshot (357).png

So it is confirmed, the first one is ...BUSTED



Second case

The second case was someone impersonating the curie account on steemit chat. The thing is curie has an official #curie channel on steemit chat, where all cases relating to curie can be addressed.

sam scam 2.jpg
sam scam 3.jpg

This case was swiftly tackled because we all love curie and well the scam was so sloppy.
Luckily in this case, the person was not successfully duped of his SBD. As we can see, a lot of things are off. The English is wrong and the scammer (in his haste) forgot not to act desperate and instead was practically begging the person instead to send 20 SBD and take his votes.
Of course the curie team ( because curie is a bot) are now aware of the situation and are more vigilant.


The third case

This will be brief, there is a fake minnowbooster account on steemit chat that was banned recently, employing the same tactics as the first two also.


Taking the right steps

Screenshot (355)EE.png

The first thing to do is to report to @pfunk or @firepower and have such accounts terminated with maximum prejudice, but the most important thing to do is to stop being overly desperate.
Scammers feed off greed and when you remove that, then they have nothing else. Sometimes am tempted not to feel sorry for someone who got scammed by such antics because they allowed their greed cloud their mind...tbh
So the next time you hear these words: "Hey there! I am a whale and I see you have so many nice posts, pay me 20 SBD to my bittrex account and I will give you my 100% vote worth $200 for seven of your posts." Run away and never look back.


We as a community say no to scam.



Thanks to @elyaque for the badge



First image is from pixabay.



lion badge.png

new footer.gif

Sort:  

good to educate the community. It looks like it has gotten quite out of hand recently. Let's think how we can educate even more!

Perhaps steemit can add it as part of their display message on the site, that way everyone sees it.

Great post! Thanks for informations mate!

you are welcome

Run away and never look back.

lol. Keep running, dont wait until @pfunk gets such accounts. There is actually a new scam going on now, where member puts some link and when you click on it, it takes you to another site similar to steemit where you input password. Those are new strategies too.

Why don't they just simply just make money the right way?

I hate scammers with passion. The sad truth is people will continue to fall for this. Impatience and quick gratification being the major reason. You a very good job there with the clear cut presentation of those cases.

Thank you

I had a similar experience too, but I have tackled it with the limited resources I have. I wrote a post about it a couple of days ago and I stated some few tips there.

That is good.

Very informative, thanks for sharing this at least newbies like us would be on the lookout.
One major characteristics that people who fall for scammers have is greed, when you are greedy and want it very fast, you easily fall for scammers.
Wonderful post

lol, nothing wrong in marketing, but buying is something different.

Haha..!
So after leaving yahoo & ponzi to join legit biz(steemit)
We still meet another set of scammers😂

Unfortunately some people scam where ever they go

Well read and digested

Please ensure you don't make such mistakes

I won't Sir...

Scammers everywhere we should all

I also made a recent post about a scammer who was sending messages in memo to get me to send sbd. The best way to deal with them is to expose them quickly so that more people are aware of them and stop other people from getting hurt.

Yes they are, it knows no race.

I also made a recent post about a scammer who was sending messages in memo to get me to send sbd. The best way to deal with them is to expose them quickly so that more people are aware of them and stop other people from getting hurt.

The best way to deal with them is to expose them quickly so that more people are aware of them and stop other people from getting hurt.

Exactly

thanks for sharing

I've not had any of these yet, but I would be suspicious. I don't buy votes anyway

lol, I wonder how some people fall for such.

Great read for us newbies. Thanks.

You are welcome

@fashionlife
yeah nd good awareness for newbies to ensure they are safe in steemit... nice comment and keep steeming hot

Scammers everywhere. Lazy set of people.

Very lazy people

Thanks for sharing this. Really helpful

You are welcome

I really wish I saw this kind of warning before I got scammed last week. Well, I guess it made me wiser. Because I've learnt from my own mistakes.
I'm resteeming this so my friends can be warned too

Lol, unfortunately, it happens.

Everywhere in the world are people looking for unscrupulous ways to make money, all at someone else's expense, loss, and sometimes quite terrible suffering. Thanks for sharing

You are welcome

Truth is when you are in dire need, don't make a hasty move. There are wicked people all around. People should try to avoid any transaction that will make your blood pressure go up.

Even if I know you in person, I prefer to work for my sbd and stick to the very known minnowsupport.

100% vote worth $200

I fear! Does anyone have that. All for greed noni. 😊.

Thanks for the awareness @ehiboss

Some people have that, but the thing is it's not for sale unless you rent SP

i hope they will not say Nigerians oo. WE just want to make a decent earning

lol, the scammer doesn't sound Nigerian and it was a Nigerian that was scammed.

Thm wan kill me for discord channel

Yes He offered to raise my rep to 70 only if we agreed on terms. In reply I told him" NO DEAL" I need to my rep raised. I get work hard, but not by anti-steemit community deal. I suspected his offer.

Wow that is good.

Nice one boss, with you around we learn always.

You are welcome

Good job educating us...

You are welcome

You said it all brother @ehiboss, and at this point I'll also want the general public see how the scammers recently approached me and how I defeated.


SCAMMERS OFTEN TIMES DO APPROACH THEIR TARGET FIRST.
Here I try to engage him as if I was interested which I did in order to have these evidences that I share now

Please follow the snapshots:

image
image
image
image


I defeated him with contentment and he left ashamed!

i guess you are really right about how scammers get off to start with...greed...i have been active on steemit now for like three weeks running and i know its not for greedy or lazy people, i am always working and when i tell people about it i make sure to add that its not free money...you work....thats how people get swindled...by not wanting to work....great post! i hope people listen

Great, keep working hard

@ehiboss
ery good post creating awareness of ugly incidences... well, in any successful platform it is to be expected as scammers are integral part of any huge community or platform but it is our ability to be vigilant and frustrate them will make many more know that steemit is not a place for such acts...
good one dear...keep it up

nice sharing good psot i like it i Follow you please vote me thank you so much i need your help ..

Everywhere in the world are people looking for unscrupulous ways to make money, all at someone else's expense, loss, and sometimes quite terrible suffering. Thanks for sharing

So much information @ehiboss thanks for sharing.

Too many people get scammed, also here and I am always astonished and shocked by the criminal energy of certain people! They know how to get people scammed - always be careful, never ever give out your master passwords