Scammers Scammers Everywhere! https://exmodex.com/ SCAM SITE

in #scam5 years ago

Here is a story that happened to me today!
I was contacted on Discord from someone asking if I know about Cryptocurrency...well duh!
Who doesn't?!
But this scammer went on to say that they have an account on an EXCHANGE that is locked, and they have several BTC they need to withdraw. And that they will transfer the Bitcoin to your account, so you can withdraw it for them.

He offered me 15%! WoW
So I went to create an account on this unknown exchange
https://exmodex.com/
Which was the first big RED FLAG...but why not try?! lol
Once I signed in, the first thing I saw was a TRANSFER PAGE saying "If you deposit into these addresses, your funds will be lost. Transfers only"

This made it REALLY easy to find my transfer address..lol
So I sent this to the Scammer on Discord and shortly after I had 2.02 BTC transfered to the account.

Looked pretty cool when it said over $16k in balance. but when I attempted to withdraw...

It wanted me to deposit .03 BTC to VERIFY? For Real?!

Obviously at this point the scammer wants me to deposit .03 BTC to withdraw the 2 BTC and run away with the $16k.
So the scammer is trying to find scammers?

At this point I thought the exchange may have scammed him. So I was going to just send the BTC back to him and it said

This is when I told him that I think he had been scammed and he sent me a picture of a bunch of withdrawals on the same site.

I started doing a little research and found out that https://exmodex.com/ was created
9 DAYS AGO!
When I realized the person that contacted me on discord was the scammer that created the site, that made you think you had 2 BTC...

Just a WARNING for anyone else that may run into the same SCAMMERS!
Please Upvote to Spread Awareness

Sort:  

Congratulations @goplayonline! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You published more than 50 posts. Your next target is to reach 60 posts.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!