We Have a Steemit Scammer to Deal With. Here's The Case!

in #scam6 years ago

No matter how much we try, assholes find a way to scam on Steemit. One such scam is happening right now. The guy tried to scam me too and after some basic check, I was able to determine that it was a scam. Then, I was able to locate the culprit as well. I love when stupid people try to scam. Everything they do screams the word scam.

It all started with Minnow Booster. I was involved too. Don't get me wrong. Let me share with you what happened.

Screenshot_20180121-032518
My messages to @reggaemuffin about @minnowbooster paying 5 times more than required. Hundreds of thousands of dollars of loss to Minnow Booster and @buildteam

I had requested SP lease from MinnowBooster market four days ago. In total four separate requests. One was filled. Three were not. I got the sent Steem back for the three unfulfilled requests. But I received 5x more than I had sent. Roughly 350 Steem for free.

IMG_20180121_034243
Each transfer done five times, four times not required.

I don't know how my followers feel about me but I am person with principles, especially when it comes to financial stuff. I immediately sent the above shown messages to @reggaemuffin, one of the minds behind the amazing services and intiatives like @minnowbooster. He is yet to see my messages. Unfortunately so.

Meanwhile, a smartass created an account today with the name of Minnow Booster Beta (same as @minnowbooster's) but with username pse. He thought of this sitaution as a good opportunity to scam people and get some Steem. How did I know? Because he sent me this!

IMG_20180121_034730
You can see my response to him too.

The idiot is sending 0.001 Steem to everyone who got extra Steem with the memo which reads like this, except the amounts.

Minnowbooster Team : we have transfered you 65 steem in 5 transactions by mistake. It was a bot malfunction. we have detected your actual refund is 13 steem. please refund 52 steem @ pse

IMG_20180121_035024.jpg

Upon further inspection, I found the real account behind this scam. It was very simple. He needed Steem to send 0.001 to everyone so he sent 0.100 from his original account. Memo is interesting.

IMG_20180121_035310.jpg
First ever transaction in the wallet of a brand new account cannot be a refund. Such an idiot!

Nice job @pedia7. Now get fucked forever.

IMG_20180121_035823
Not smart enough to scam

Resteem to let people know about this scam in particular and Steemit based scams in general!

Sort:  

Thank you @ilyastarar! I will send an official message to people affected, so that scammer won't receive a cent.

Thank you so much for the response. I did my part to save fellow Steemians from a potential loss. I also notified you immediately about the surplus transfers because @minnowbooster is an extremely useful ecosystem and its loss is a loss of community too.

Pleasure doing this and I will always keep doing what is best for the people around me.

Oh My God! People become so mean when it comes to money. Such kind of people don't deserve to be a part of such a generous community like steemit.
@ilyastarar your blogs are always a great help. Thanks a ton for informing us.
Stay blessed!

I choose to see the glass half full, for every scammer that joins there appears to be a honest Steemian who refuses free Steem if it comes from a technical error. Kudos to you, sir.

thanks for the information you have to be aware of this type of scam
I will start following your publications to be informed

Thank you. I am sure that my posts will help you in multiple ways.

Scammers on steemit, mehnnn wah a lazy ass hole , why can't he work and make money for himself here.... someone people are just being difficult

Exactly! We, the people who are working hard, are seeing the rewards of our efforts. Why can't everyone do that. Scamming is such a negative thing. Money should never be the only motive.

He didn't had a big account anyway... But what happened to @minnowbooster? Do you think that everybody will give back the additional Steem they received?

Not having a big account shouldn't warrant sparing him for what he is trying to do. I wish to see his account sunk to -1 reputation so that he can never dare to scam anyone again and not earn anything substantial from Steemit as well.

I was someday fooled by a guy who made an account named @blocktraders. This guy keeps the money that any body with bad luck of a mistype makes when sending money to @blocktrades... you can check its wallet and see how many people have fell for this...

And I do think everyone is bound to return the undeserved amount. The community behind MB can flag the hell out of anyone if a denial occurs. Potentially dangerous to say no. I will personally give this idea if needed.

I thought about this too, but there are always people who place the greed in front of everything. I hope that this time it won't be the case!

Where will be money there will be scammers.

While a seemingly simple statement, there's so much weight in your comment. It means that we have scammers on Steemit too and we need to do something about it.

It is the main problem on steemit. We need to Put a lot on this issue.

Grrr scamming wanker. That’s for bringing it to the communities attention.

I always try to highlight any scam under progress or about to happen. I think it is important to keep this community secure.

Sorry to hear this Brother upvoted thanks for heads up

Great post .Thanks for sharing us about this type of scamers.

resteeming...

Thanks a lot! And pleasure following you.

Great post! Come with me!

You are scamer Too!!!! :(

Nice work

While appreciative words, your comment does not indicate if you have read the post. That's why such comments are called spam and are downvoted.

Why not I read the post I was only commenting on the effort you made by connecting two different accounts that are not related in other to get a scammer working as a imposter of minnow booster.
I only used the phrase nice works so I wouldn't talk much.

@ilyastarar This is a brilliant piece of investigation. Thank you for bringing it to our attention. I am about to follow the trail of clues left by the scammer @pedia7 and @pse, and i expect he will soon find I leave behind a trail of flags. I hope you will do the same.

Big upvote for your effort.

Well, I applied my downvotes and his reputation dropped from45 to 9. Need afew more people to downvote him please.

Resteemed !!

you are a white knight my friend.

keep doing what ya doing. and exposing these scammers. well i know thats not what you like to do im just saying good job lol.

#steemitbloggers.

STEEMIT-BLOGGERS-GIF (1).gif

First a plaigerizer and now an outright thief. Fuck em both. Let the consequences of their actions pound them into submission.

Good catch @ilyastarar. These people don't give two shits about another single person in this world except themselves.

O man, that's scary. Good catch there. I hope he/she hasn't robbed off any gullible steemian with his antics.

Thank you.....for minnows like me who cannot even get steem this is certainly an eye opener.