You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Booster Shot!

in #science2 years ago

I've done the influenza vaccine a few times. Once was my final year in university and they were predicting it would be a bad year. I didn't really want to mess up that because of the flu. I've also taken it before when I have sick relatives and I need to visit them in the hospitals a lot.

These days I don't bother because with everyone wearing a mask and being extra cautious, I haven't been sick at all for 2 years.

The unusual one in Korea is Japanese encephalitis. It's mostly a legacy of the past in here, like malaria or TB. The vaccine is scheduled for kids because parents worry. I've heard it's quite bad if you catch it. I never bothered getting it because it's quite expensive for adults and it's from mosquitos, so I'm only putting myself at risk.

I'll get my booster shot in 2 months, Korea is really strict with vaccine mandates. My wife is an anti-vaxxer and she can't go to restaurants, theatres, museums, etc.

I like to make fun of her by quoting the silliest reasons to avoid it that I read on the Internet, usually the conspiracy theories lol. However, she's pregnant so I'm not going to pressure her to make medical decisions.

Sort:  

Sometimes we have to make individual decisions with what makes us comfortable, being pregnant I agree with her to wait as nothing is ever totally reliable whichever way we go.

Go safely with whatever decisions you make.