Science life - PHARMACEUTICAL INDUSTRY WEEK

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Hi scientists all over the world!
I'm here again with the second date of my "science life" blog.
Some of you already know (for mine introduce yourself) that I'm attending an international master's degree in Neuroscience at the university of Trieste.
I want to tell you about a wonderful expirience that I had in the second week of January: "Applied Neuroscience: industrial approaches to brain disorders".

images.jpg
Researcher


Me and my class attending lectures with industrial researchers, directors and so on.

During this week we learned how a scientific discovery is transormed in a drug. We learned a lot attending lectures and performing practical tests with industrial researchers, directors, manager and so on. We met women and men with a brilliant career and they told us how is it possible to reach a so high level. We met two ex-students of Trieste that are now working in scientific industries, Giulia Detela for VivaBioCell industry in Udine and Francesco Bez for Redoxis industry in Lund (Sweden); then two important managers as Fabrizio Gasparini, director of the Neurosceince division of Novertis-Basilea, and Loredana Bergamini, medical director of Janssen-Cilag-Italia. We also met academic spin-off as Transactiva (Udine) and Celica (Lubiana) and finally the business angels of Unicorn Trainers.

images.png

The boom of this week has been the trip to the SCIENCE PARK area were we talked about innovations and technological transferiment with Maurizio Caradonna of Innovation Factory and the Eng. Diego Bravar, vice-president of Confindustria Venezia-Giulia and president of Biovalley investments.

5167083434_24f3a12d09_b.jpg

Finally, we visited the labs of Rottapharm Biotech, a pharmaceutical industry in Science Park.

download.png

These meetings has been very important also to give us an idea about all the possible future employements.
We, as biologists, normally think that the only way to be happy is an academic career but it isn't true! During this week I discovered a lot of different opportunities for our future: we can also do research in industries for example but there are then others employments for a biologist that are around the research but not properly research.
I will tell you something more about all the opportunities for a biologist and about my trip to Science Park in the next days... But for the moment, that's it!

To be continued...
Dr.ssa Adriana Della Pietra.

Sort:  

I guess it was an amazing opportunity :D and I'm very curious about your trip to the Science Park...waiting for your next post!

Thanks Michela! I'm working on it. I'll publish it soon.

Great Adriana ^^! Thanks for your article! I'm really interested in this universe called neuroscience :)! It is so fascinating! I look forward to seeing what you have to share ^*!

Thank you very much. There will be a lot of news soon...