You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Intelligence of insects, part I

in #science • 7 years ago

but there exist hints that insects actually show kind of conscious thinking and are even aware of themselves as single individuals. You don't believe me? This @jaki01 must be crazy

No, you're not crazy. That title belongs to people who say plants are intelligent and conscious! 😄

I'm willing to believe that insects etc. possess some kind of consciousness. When I spray a roach and I see the way it scurries and then turns on its back and writhes, it's hard for me to believe it doesn't feel pain. I even feel moral pangs in those moments. I don't know how to prove they have consciousness - we don't even really know what consciousness is - but I believe they possess it to some degree.

But I'm not yet ready to believe plants have consciousness! Or intelligence!

I liked the article! Good job. It even gave me a possible idea about a story I plan to write in the future.

Not upvoted cos my allowance is exceeded for the day, but Followed!

Sort:  
I don't know how to prove they have consciousness ...

There is no real proof, but I will describe some amazing observations in part II.

Looking forward to it!