You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: So you wanted to be a scientist? Let me tell you what's happening in academia today!

in #science7 years ago

This reminds me of this article I read and commented on today:

https://steemit.com/science/@rieki/is-science-just-another-religion-21st-century-dogma-faith-in-science-and-the-cult-of-objectivity-1498976562-7605853

When I read stories like yours, I try to sniff out the problems hiding behind it. For instance, what does it mean that quantity is favored over quality? Why? Why do they want more and more, at a quicker and quicker pace? Could it be that competition and capitalism have entered the academic arena where only the pure search for knowledge should rule (and money will always come as a natural result of that)? And then people steal all your ideas because their mind is a desert that wouldn't be able to grow an idea if it was buried in fertilizer - reminds me of Wall Street people.

Knowledge takes time, and it takes money. If scientists aren't allowed to earn from their own discoveries, there won't be any money. If scientists are pushed to publish, they will yield lower quality research, like most of the articles on steemit.

Anyway, the above may be a gross misunderstanding of what really lies behind the problems you've faced. But in the end, I'm an optimist, because I think if science doesn't solve this, then basically science will perish. Science relies on results. Without those, it's gone. The world needs science, it needs scientists, so I'm positive it will figure out a solution.

Good article. You've gained a new follower in me Ledys!

Sort:  

Thank you for the link, It looks super interesting . I need a clear head to comment, so I will wait until tomorrow.

👍

Hello!!
I really totally agree with you and I share your optimism! The scientific field will evolve to a better direction.
I read the post of @rieki and I agree with some of his ideas as well. Thanks for giving me the link!