WAR AGAINST DRUG ABUSE- USING TRAMADOL AS A CASE STUDY

in #science6 years ago (edited)

Guys Wait!!! Let’s See Eye To Eye On This Tramadol Issue


ogi15841.jpg

I don’t really understand what this drug is now used for…Here are some cases I have encountered for this issue ;

I was in my room one time and a guy said he took trams as it is famously called, and went to sit for an exam, when I asked him what was the reason behind that he said he took it so it could calm his head (question; Does taking tramadol make you see the answer or pass the exam cuz if he had told me yes… I would have being tempted to take it too.

Another one again said he took 4 pills at once all just to show off to his friends that it was nothing but believe me you that after taking an hour lately he had seizure and that day I was as scared as hell because I thought he was going to die, his eyelid were facing up and as a result it was just the white part of his eye ball we were seeing, his teeth were clinging to each other as though he was epileptic and he couldn’t control his body

Another case which seems to be a very common reason one, is a guy that I know of, who took tramadol in order to ‘perform’ well as they always like saying, but unfortunately the next thing I heard was that he was in the hospital receiving medication here is why; after he took the pill, he started feeling uneasy so he went to take his bath thinking it was the atmosphere but it made it was he started feeling pains that only he could explain

The painful part of this drug is that it can actually become additive like narcotics, and the rest of it, there is a guy who actually became addicted to it, up to an extent that any little pain he feels he resort to tramadol, I just thank God because he is receiving a rehabilitation class which hopefully will change his mindset of the drug tramadol

After all has being said and done then what is tramadol and what should it be used for asked a friend of mine, well here is a few tips about tramadol


What is Tramadol?

Tramadol is a narcotic-like pain reliever. Tramadol is a drug, used to treat moderate to severe pain.

Here are important dos and don’ts of Tramadol

You should not take tramadol if you have severe breathing problems, a blockage in your stomach or intestines, or if you have recently used alcohol, sedatives, tranquilizers, narcotic medication, or an MAO inhibitor ( isocarboxazid, linezolid, methylene blue injection, phenelzine, rasagiline, selegiline, tranylcypromine, and others).

Tramadol can slow or stop your breathing, and may be habit-forming. Misuse of this medicine can cause addiction, overdose, or death, especially in a child or other person using the medicine without a prescription.

Tramadol should not be given to a child younger than 12 years old.

Taking tramadol during pregnancy may cause life-threatening withdrawal symptoms in the newborn.

Fatal side effects can occur if you use this medicine with alcohol, or with other drugs that cause drowsiness or slow your breathing.

Before taking this medicine here are some factors you must consider:

You should not take tramadol if you are allergic to it, or if you have:
  • Severe asthma or breathing problems
  • A blockage in your stomach or intestines
  • If you have recently used alcohol, sedatives, tranquilizers, or narcotic medications
  • If you have used an MAO inhibitor in the past 14 days (such as isocarboxazid, linezolid, methylene blue injection, phenelzine, rasagiline, selegiline, or tranylcypromine).
  • Do not give this medicine to anyone younger than 18 years old who recently had surgery to remove the tonsils or adenoids. Seizures have occurred in some people taking tramadol.

    If you use tramadol while you are pregnant, your baby could become dependent on the drug. This can cause life-threatening withdrawal symptoms in the baby after it is born. Babies born dependent on habit-forming medicine may need medical treatment for several weeks. Tell your doctor if you are pregnant or plan to become pregnant.

    Do not breast-feed while taking tramadol. This medicine can pass into breast milk and cause drowsiness, breathing problems, or death in a nursing baby.

    >To make sure tramadol is safe for you, ask your doctor if you have ever had:
  • Liver or kidney disease
  • A stomach disorder
  • Mental illness, or suicide attempt.
  • How then should I take tramadol?

    Well take tramadol exactly as prescribed. Follow all directions on your prescription label. Tramadol can slow or stop your breathing, especially when you start using this medicine or whenever your dose is changed. Never take this medicine in larger amounts, or for longer than prescribed. Tell your doctor if the medicine seems to stop working as well in relieving your pain.

    Tramadol may be habit-forming, even at regular doses. Never share this medicine with another person, especially someone with a history of drug abuse or addiction. Misuse of pain medication can cause addiction, overdose, or death, especially in a child or other person using the medicine without a prescription. Selling or giving away this medicine is against the law.

    Stop taking all other around-the-clock narcotic pain medications when you start taking tramadol.

    Tramadol can be taken with or without food, but take it the same way each time.

    Do not crush, break, or open an extended-release tablet or capsule (ConZip, Ultram ER). Swallow it whole to avoid exposure to a potentially fatal dose.

    Never crush or break a tablet inhale the powder or mix it into a liquid to inject the drug into your vein. This practice has resulted in death.

    If you use the tramadol extended-release tablet, the tablet shell may pass into your stools (bowel movements). This is normal and does not mean that you are not receiving enough of the medicine.

    Do not stop using this medicine suddenly, or you could have unpleasant withdrawal symptoms. Ask your doctor how to safely stop using this medicine.

    Store at room temperature away from moisture and heat. Keep track of your medicine. Tramadol is a drug of abuse and you should be aware if anyone is using your medicine improperly or without a prescription.

    Do not keep leftover opioid medication. Just one dose can cause death in someone using this medicine accidentally or improperly. Ask your pharmacist where to locate a drug take-back disposal program. If there is no take-back program, flush the unused medicine down the toilet.

    What happens if I miss a dose?

    Since tramadol is used for pain, you are not likely to miss a dose. Skip any missed dose if it is almost time for your next scheduled dose. Do not take extra medicine to make up the missed dose.

    What happens if I overdose?

    A tramadol overdose can be fatal, especially in a child or other person using the medicine without a prescription. Overdose symptoms may include slow heart rate, severe drowsiness, cold and clammy skin, very slow breathing, or coma.

    What should I avoid while taking tramadol?

    Do not drink alcohol with tramadol. Dangerous side effects or death could occur. This medicine may impair your thinking or reactions. Avoid driving or operating machinery until you know how this medicine will affect you. Dizziness or severe drowsiness can cause falls or other accidents.

    Intended Effects and Unintended Effects of taking Tramadol

    A person will abuse tramadol to try to achieve the following effects:
    • Euphoria
    • Mellowness
    • Sense of well-being
    • Lack of inhibition
    • Undesirable effects of tramadol are similar to those of other opiates:
    • Dizziness
    • Weakness
    • Sleepiness
    • Insomnia
    • Headache
    • Shaking
    • Heartburn
    • Panic attacks
    • Hallucinations
    • Nausea
    • Vomiting
    • Diarrhea
    • Constipation
    • Itching
    • Sweating
    • Dry mouth
    • noisy breathing, sighing, shallow breathing
    • a slow heart rate or weak pulse
    • a light-headed feeling, like you might pass out
    • seizure (convulsions)
    • missed menstrual periods
    • impotence, sexual problems, loss of interest in sex
    • Anxiety
    • tremors
    • rigors
    • pain
    • diarrhea
    • upper respiratory symptoms
    • piloerection
    • panic attacks
    • severe anxiety
    • paresthesias

    Recovering from Tramadol Addiction

    Is It Possible to Stop the addiction of Tramadol?

    The answer is absolutely. I do not consider this a do-it-yourself project, however. Stopping tramadol requires careful coordination and supervision from a knowledgeable health professional.

    Tramadol is not considered to have the same high risk for addiction as other opiates, but it is still addictive. What is typical when a person does become addicted is that getting pills becomes the most important thing for him (or her). This goes as far as a person being willing to commit crimes to get pills, when he never would have done anything criminal before he was addicted.

    ”In some fifty worldwide locations, the Narconon program offers a deep detoxification program that can activate the body’s ability to flush out residual toxins from mescaline abuse, helping to eliminate the drug’s lingering effects. Life skills training includes learning how poor decisions regarding friends and acquaintances damaged their lives in the past and how to make better choices in the future. The individual learns how personal values are lost and how to restore them.The goal of the program is a drug-free individual.”__check google for more info

    Addiction treatment should occur as soon as a family realizes that the problem they are dealing with is addiction. Many families have become bankrupt by trying to help a person with every problem they ran into in life when at the heart of the matter, drug or alcohol abuse was the true ruin of their loved one’s life.

    Well, here is a person’s case or shall I say story which I feel will be helpful and I would love it if we could comment on other helpful ways of getting rid of tramadol addiction (indeed)……

    “Two years ago I was prescribed tramadol for arthritis in my upper and lower back, as well as hip. I also had severe leg pain. Over the last two years I moved from one 50 mg pill three times per day to the maximum dose throughout the day (eight 50mg pills).

    “Sometimes I’d take 4 or 5 at once depending on the pain. I was never informed that this drug was addictive or that it was an SSRI-type drug. My doctor actually said that it wasn’t addictive! Stupidly I took his word for it and didn’t realize just how bad the withdrawal was until I was forced into. I was working abroad and ran out of pills.

    “The first time I went through cold turkey dropping from 400 mg per day to zero overnight. It was horrific. I experienced all-over body pain, flu, vomiting, severe depression and anxiety, brain zaps, fatigue, diarrhea, bouts of feeling confused and angry, paranoia etc. During all this I continued working, though looking back now I must have been a nightmare to be around.

    “I had no access to Internet at the time (working in the developing world) and still had no idea what was happening. I thought I had dengue fever or malaria at one point. This all lasted around 5 weeks.

    “When I hit home I went straight back to the doctor and got back on the tramadol! I was completely unaware that I had gone through a severe bought of cold turkey withdrawal.

    “I decided that 2016 would be the year I would quit this crap for good. At that point I was already down to around 300mg per day (taken in 150 mg doses twice per day). I decided on a longer taper schedule. I dropped 50 mg per week – so 300 mg/day for a week, then 250 mg/day the next week etc. Once I was down to 150 mg I just took all three pills at once in the morning. I always needed at least 2-3 at once to take the pain away. I held at 150 mg for around 2 weeks. I ended up having a relapse due to increased pain, so I moved up to 200 mg/day again for a while.

    “Following this tapering method I am now down to 25 mg/day, which means splitting the capsule and pouring 25 mgs of powder into water and drinking it. I’ll hold at 25 mg for a week then drop to 12.5mg for 3 days. After that I’ll do one day on and one day off on 12.5mg for a week before jumping off for good. I figure that 12.5mg over a two week period (with the last week being day on the day off) should be a small enough amount to experience only minimal withdrawal symptoms.

    “Last week was the hardest week of the taper. The drop from 100 mg (2 pills taken at once in the morning), to one 50 mg pill was tough. I experienced a drop in mood and felt a little down for three days while my body and brain adjusted to the lower dose. I’ve also noticed a slight increase in muscle pain and back pain since dropping to 50 mg/day. I’ve had a few days of sneezing, bouts of tiredness and fatigue, but once my body adjusted to 50 mg, these symptoms went away. Of course I did experience a slight increase in pain. That’s to be expected though as the tramadol was just masking pain anyway.

    “Today was my first day of 25 mg and I feel fine. I actually feel like my mind is a lot clearer! Tramadol definitely fills my mind and leaves my feeling like my head is foggy, if that makes sense. I have no withdrawal symptoms at the end of the first 25 mg day, and it’s been 10 hours since I took it.

    “For me, tapering is the way to go if you want to stop tramadol, especially if you are on a high dose. There is no ‘one size fits all’ solution to coming off tramadol. Every person and every body/brain reacts differently.

    “Last Christmas I tried to go cold turkey. Like the first time (when I had no idea what I was going through) it was also horrific. After 60 hours I awoke with severe muscle spasms in both arms and legs. I was an emotional wreck and had all the other typical and some of the atypical symptoms. I took 100 mg and within 20 minutes every withdrawal symptom was gone. That was the catalyst to help me quit. No drug should have that much impact on your body and life. I began tapering a week later.

    “One thing that has really helped for me is exercise. I started exercising a lot more around a month ago in prep for the last 3 weeks of the taper. I knew I needed to increase my fitness to deal with the aches and pains of coming off this drug. Even with back problems you should be able to swim or ride a bike–anything to get a sweat on and feel good about yourself. I feel that this has made tapering easier too.

    “So, to anyone who is worried about coming off Tramadol I feel tapering is the bet solution especially if you are worried about withdrawal symptoms and/or you are on a higher dose.

    “For some people they just want to get off and can deal with 1 week of cold turkey. For others though, that cold turkey doesn’t just last one week. It might be 3 but might also be 6. Tapering has definitely worked for me. I still need to stay strong to make the final leap, but I feel this will be so much easier coming off one quarter of a 50 mg pill rather than a much higher dose. Good luck everyone.”

    Sort:  

    Dear friend, you do not appear to be following @wafrica. Follow @wafrica to get a valuable upvote on your quality post!

    whoa thanks mehn

    Please cite your references.

    Please use the #ulog or #ulogs tag on posts about you and how you shine as a human being. Try to impart your beauty to all other #uloggers who are your true fans. Imagine you are a celebrity and you are writing about yourself. Please follow this guide to understand #ulog posts more. We will be featuring and curating/upvoting posts that are observed to follow these points:

    HOWTOULOG1.png
    HOWTOULOG.png

    We'll be looking forward to your next #ulog post. Thank you and have a wonderful day! Keep steeming.

    my view on any drug is pretty simple, do not take it unless of course its prescribed by a medical doctor

    well its not that easy looking at it from another angle...i just feel people should be well informed on especially this particular drug and more though cuz the way they consume it nowadays its alarming..... thanks though

    Did you know Narconon is a front group for Scientology? Do you know what an OP is or what a TR is? Everyone in Narconon does