#SteemTubeExperiment: Can we plant enough trees to fix climate change?

in #science8 years ago

Hey Steemers, @federicopistono here.

"If CO2 emissions are so dangerous and plants eat CO2, why don't we just plant more trees to fix climate change?". It's a logical question I keep hearing, but is it actually possible?

I spent several years researching climate change, and in this video I look at the math of using trees to fix it. Can it work? How many trees would we need? Would there be enough space? How long would it take?

Special thanks to my friend Simon Clark, PhD in climate physics at the University of Exeter for checking the physics in the video https://konoz.io/SimonOxfPhys

Credits

Voice/Concept/Storyboard/Editing: me ( @federicopistono )

Sources

The #SteemTubeExperiment

I'm a best-selling author, internet creator, one of the top 50 contributors on Steemit, and I manage a community of hundreds of YouTube superstars.

This is the fifth post of the series "The SteemTubeExperiment: bringing YouTube superstar creators to Steem".

  • I will post a selection of my YouTube videos on Steem (#SteemTubeExperiment), recording the results and feedback
  • I will document the process and challenges I find as a creator on Steem
  • If my experience on Steemit is positive, I will tell other superstar YouTubers about it

Where to find me:

Sort:  

Hopefully steemit can support things like this. Let's do it!

Cool video, and a sign we really need to rely on renewable energy over fossil fuels.

Interesting video!

Ask less questions and lets just do!

To plant trees is good and must be done every time you can.
BUT, this will not affect "climate change", because humans are responsible only for 3% of the CO2 in our planet. The other 97% are due other natural sources, like the Oceans and Vulcanoes.

As far as I know the most of carbon dioxide is transformed in oxygen with oceanic phytoplankton.
There are 3 things every real man in this world should do - build a house, raise children and plant a tree, however)