You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plants vs. Pharmaceuticals

in #science6 years ago (edited)

I love that you chose the word Pumpernickel.
In response to what you wrote, generally I agree with you @suesa , and here is why:
I believe doing anything that could be potentially harmful, without the proper research is foolhardy. Like you said, you don't go to a pharmacist to build a car.
However, I do see the value of both pharmaceutical and herbs.
I have been exposed to so called "Eastern" and "Western" medicine my whole life. In my experience, they can be complementary. For example, I had a medical problem when I was about 6 years of age that Western doctors could not cure, but a Chinese doctor was able to do so with herbs and acupuncture. Yet, there are other ailments, for example my ADD, that I treat with Western medicine.
So, for me, they are both pieces to the puzzle. A puzzle I am so invested in, that I decided to become a doctor. Now, if only there were a combined MD/Chinese medicine doctorate. If that existed, I believe we would get the best of both worlds from a single diagnostician that knew herbs and pharmaceuticals well enough to prescribe the best treatment for each individual.
But that would require a blending of traditions, and unfortunately, I don't see that happening any time soon. Then again, they are combining MD and DO programs, so who knows, maybe someday in the near future my wish will come true. 😀

Oh and I think you wrote save twice but maybe meant to write safe?

Sort:  

Yes I meant safe, got to correct this when I come home. With English as a second language, this always happens :P

A mix of both worlds is actually not that rare in Germany, my doctor practices both, modern and "alternative" medicine.

In North America the medical system has pretty much zero knowledge about herbs and generally assume that they are going to react with the medications that a doctor wants to put their patient on.

That is why there was such a need for a separate regulated profession practicing alternative medicine which Naturopathic medicine fills. It is much more common for a MD in Germany to use herbs or homeopathy then in North America to our detriment.

Canada and the US both have some of the most expensive healthcare systems in the world and my opinion the only way we are going to bring the expenses down is to start trying herbs and homeopathy before pharmaceuticals rather then after pharmaceuticals don't work.

@foodaddict if you really want to blend Eastern and Western medicine I would suggest you check out some integrative medical conferences or the naturopathic schools in your area so that you can practice true to what you believe. (unless you are wanting to do surgery)