Visualising Radioactive Decay with Home-Made Cloud Chamber! (Part 2)

in #science7 years ago

As I'm busy in the recent days, I'm not able to write a full article on how I made my Home-Made Cloud Chamber yet. However, I can show you some videos and pictures below! Below are  alpha particle trails from a 2% Thoriated Welding Rod! The trace amounts of Thorium helps to maintain the welding electrodes for welding, but are ever-so-slightly radioactive. We can visualise this by putting it in a cloud chamber with alcohol vapour cooled to around -20 degrees Celsius! Enjoy!

In the above video, you can see 2 trails occurring one after the other.

Another distinct alpha trail...

and a still image of another one!

See part 1 for an explanation of how a Cloud Chamber Works!

Part 1 of Visualising Radioactive Decay

Sort:  

I love that really much!
I had been once opening up a fire alarm and get the Am-241 to play with it
You can also get thorium from some lantern mantles XDD

Realy nice. Im enjoying you home-made experiments. Thank you.