You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Plants vs. Pharmaceuticals

in #science6 years ago

I have done lots of researches on biologically active compounds and their antiparasic/antibacterial/antifungal effects. Even though some of these so called herbs seem more effective than the usual pharmaceutical drugs, the accumulation of some of the bioactive substances in the herbs could spell doom for the body in the long run. That is why I prefer to call it 'complementary medicines' instead of 'alternate medicines'.

However, I am of the opinion that researches into herbal medicines should always get the attention of the pharmaceutical bigwigs. Organisms keep evolving and developing resistance to drugs. If it will not be too early, I think a new strain of augmentin resistant Escherichia coli might be in town, but that will be for future discussion.

I have never been across any German food around here but given an option, I will take garlic bread over pumpernickel.

Enjoy!