What the fact?! #5 - SONOLUMINESCENE … What is Happening There?

in #science6 years ago

It’s not solved yet!

What happens when you collapse an underwater bubble with a sound wave? Light is getting produced! And none knows yet why… I’ve heard about that fact on another social media platform and I couldn't forget about it. I guess it probably didn't let me go yet, because it seems to be simple but the answer to the question why light is getting produced during a sonoluminescence is making scientists some big headache! But of course there is theories, one of the leading ones says that, the heating of the bubble at collapse leads to partial ionisation of the gas which contains the bubble and to thermal emission such as bremsstrahlung.

What do you think about it? Leave a comment below!

Sort:  

thank you for the post, I did not know at all the sonoluminescence

Thanks for reading my friend!

Even with all the advanced technological equipment Scientists have these days, there is still so much in Science we don't understand or can even just explain ~ Tweeted your post :)

Thank you so much for your support! And yes, it's fascinating and it makes life interesting I guess! :)

You should do more research into the field, or provide us with sources as to where you found that they don't know how it works yet. That would allow us to discuss it better.

Yes, thanks for your advice! I'll keep that in mind for future posts.
Welcome to steemit @sergejkarkarov!

I have to admit this is awsome but my brain is still trying to wrap around it. Great picture i haven't seen anything like it before. scientists still struggle to comprehend most things and i can understand why. Because the universe is so diverse and abundant in dynamic energy

Hi, I'm a scientist. I think I've figured out sonoluminescence. Check out my book, 'Understanding Sonoluminescence,' published by IOP in December 2016.