You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Understanding Optogenetics - The Revolution in Neuroscience

in #science6 years ago

Wow, great article! I just checked trending page in steemstem and there I see your article about optogenetics - one of my greatest interests in biology.
What I believe is that optogenetics are going to be used for more unconventional things, not only neuroscience. Even today we can use optogenetics to control gene expression, kill cancer cells, manipulate heart cells or restore eyesight. The problem with "traditional" optogenetics is that it will probably never be applied to living humans, as microbial opsins may trigger immune response and light itself migh be toxic to the neurons. But we shall see.
Once again thanks for the article, its great to know that someone else is interested in the method as well! :)

Sort:  

Hey, thanks for your kind comment! I haven't thought about other applications, so it would be interesting to read about them!