Sort:  

Wow, I'm not sure what I think about sauerkraut, but if it's good for my gut, maybe it's an acquired taste and I'll give it a try. I do like it on my hot dogs and sausages once in a while though so maybe I'll try it more often. Since I'm of German descent, maybe my genetics will teach me to like it.

Wow !!!! you made sauerkraut yourself !!! OMG!!!
I didn't know the lactic acid contribute to the taste of it!! Nice entry!
don't forget to leave your entry in the comment session of the original post!

Thanks for reminding me! And yes, I make my own sauerkraut and lots of other fermented things. It's actually quite simple and usually needs no attention at all.

Interesting article!

Kim Chi is Japanese in origin and Sauerkraut is German, I'm surprised the Irish didn't come up with one of those recipes. I wonder if they have their own version.

One can ferment potatoes (2-3 days in salt water and anarobic environment), this article says it makes the taste/texture better, but cooking obviously kills the probiotics.

http://phickle.com/roastedpotatoes/

Huh, well I think I'd take taste/texture over probiotics any day. I've got enough bacteria as it is.

Just polished of a small bowl of Kim-chi this evening. It's almost seems counterintuitive to eat spicy, fermented cabage to aid digestion. It does wonders though. And it tastes great.

Nice dear

Congratulations. This post is featured in the week's nunesso's Curation post for the Nutrition and Natural Products industry. You have received a 100% upvote from us.

https://steemit.com/natural-products/@nunesso/weekly-nunesso-natural-products-curation-2

Hola muy buen post, te invito a pasar por mi blog y leer mi ultimo post el embarazo se contagia !! @amirjv1 saludos