Sort:  

yeah, but the only basic axiom you need is counting. Everything else are constructs based on definitions that are nice to have. I never really understood the concept of scientific proof, but in math, if you proof something then it is true, no way around it.

It is interesting to talk about scientific topics, but I hate how it is always dumbed down and therefore wrong in media and education. You can even look at nasa and read some really unscientific texts.

oh you bet. "astrobiology"

LOL

Do you know Peter Thiels argumentation on why we live in an age of very slow technological progress? It's pretty interesting but I cant quite remember where I watched it, thought it was ted.

Even if I do, clearly the statement is post-hoc. Totally unscientific thinking. You have a result and try to work an explanation around it by using correlations :)

The technological progress is fine. (slow and fast are very subjective)

The 2 minute clip on this page sums it up pretty good:

http://www.wsj.com/video/uncommon-knowledge-peter-thiel-on-technology-innovation/

It is tough to disagree with him I believe